a little help?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by WhoKnows?, Aug 5, 2005.

  1. WhoKnows?

    WhoKnows?

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conroe, tx
    I am planing a reef tank but I have a couple concerns. I was looking at a glass 75 gallon tank but the probley is the only spot I have for it is the 2nd story of my house. The house was built in 1999 so do you think if I put it next a wall that goes straight threw to the bottom floor it would be ok? Also the house has a water softener, I was wondering if this would create a problem with carbonate hardness in the water or will it be ok? thank you for your time.
     
    WhoKnows?, Aug 5, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. WhoKnows?

    Chris

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    26
    Not sure on the water softner. Water weighs something like 6lbs per gallon plus the weight of the tank. Dunno.
     
    Chris, Aug 6, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. WhoKnows?

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    your house should support the tank, but, there have been stories of tanks crashing through floors so you should consult a contractor for that answer. salt water is apprx. 9 lbs a gallon so you want to spread the load out over a couple floor joists. hope something here helps.
     
    jhnrb, Aug 6, 2005
    #3
  4. WhoKnows?

    Jaxon

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ringgold, Ga. USA
    In my last house I had 75 reef. i set it over the exterior wall of the first floor, the 2nd floor over-hang by about 2 feet, so it was perfect. Maybe you can set yours over a supporting wall thats down stairs. as far as the water, i would take a sample after it comes out of the water conditioner and before it goes into to the conditioner, to the LFS ,,, good luck... my:twocents:
     
    Jaxon, Aug 6, 2005
    #4
  5. WhoKnows?

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    water out of a conditioner is not suitable for salt water aquaium.
     
    jhnrb, Aug 6, 2005
    #5
  6. WhoKnows?

    WhoKnows?

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conroe, tx
    Thanks for all the help, My brother-in-law is a contractor so i will have him take a look at it. thanks again
     
    WhoKnows?, Aug 6, 2005
    #6
  7. WhoKnows?

    bkv1997

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    I'm curious why water going through a water softner isn't suitable for a reef tank.

    A water softner only removes heavy metals from the water.

    Many people use RO/DI water which has everything removed from it.

    I'm curious on this one if anyone know the reason why it isn't suitable?
     
    bkv1997, Aug 6, 2005
    #7
  8. WhoKnows?

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    THE NEW MARINE AQUARIUM by M. Paletta. a home water softening system is not the answer for removing heavy metals, as many of these systems dramatically change the sodium content of the water, which also will have a negative impact on marine life. If a home water softener is present, the RO/DI system should be used to correct any imbalances it creates. HOPE THIS ANSWERS YOUR QUESTON IN GENERAL.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2005
    jhnrb, Aug 7, 2005
    #8
  9. WhoKnows?

    tangboy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    W.Memphis,AR
    water

    Water weighs roughly 8lbs per gallon when it's clean and from the tap. You should be OK if you place the tank near a load bearing wall. Water changes are going to be fun. I hope you have a full or 1/2 bath upstairs. Do you have hardwood,tile, or carpet?
     
    tangboy, Aug 7, 2005
    #9
  10. WhoKnows?

    bkv1997

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,202
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    Thanks jhnrb...

    I'm wondering if that is saying a softner isn't enough you should use RO/DI, or is it saying either take it from the tap or RO/DI but the softner really messes it up.

    Actually an interesting concept that I personally have never thought much about, was just interested.

    Thanks again
    Brandon
     
    bkv1997, Aug 7, 2005
    #10
  11. WhoKnows?

    jhnrb

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    4,038
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    CALIF.
    if you have a water softener and you take your aquarium water form the filtered side, you should run it through an ro/di system before using it for marine aquarium make up water or for making new salt water for water changes. hope this helps.
     
    jhnrb, Aug 8, 2005
    #11
  12. WhoKnows?

    minireefer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Sunnyvale,Ca
    I am late here so I cant add much.I do agree that a RO/DI unit should be used in combination with the softner.Your setup could up to 900 or more lbs.So ask your brother-in-law how much weight the spot would support a long period of time.
     
    minireefer, Aug 8, 2005
    #12
  13. WhoKnows?

    Chris

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    26
    Shesh, No womnder everything was so heavy today when I was moving the tank, I thought water was 6lbs per gallon not 9! :)
     
    Chris, Aug 8, 2005
    #13
  14. WhoKnows?

    WhoKnows?

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conroe, tx
    thanks for all the help i have been moving so i havent had my computer set up till now. the room will be pergo flooring when its time for the aquarium. I just drove from southern california to houston texas in 36 hours and let me tell you its not fun at all
     
    WhoKnows?, Aug 14, 2005
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.