Algae Problem

Discussion in 'Algae' started by SSalty, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. SSalty

    SSalty Team Liquid Force

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    North Dakota
    My front glass fills up with green algae awefully fast. I could clean it atleast 2 times a day. All of my parameters are in check no nitrates, no phosphates, I am doing weekly water changes and it seems to do nothing. My tank has been setup for atleast 7 months and I have never battled with this before.

    Any ideas?
     
    SSalty, Nov 6, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. SSalty

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You have phosphates. The algae is just eating it up out of the water column before it gets a chance to show up on the test :).

    Decrease your photoperiod. Run some PhosGuard, PhosBan or RowaPhos per the directions on the container. What water are you using to do your water changes?
     
    Bifferwine, Nov 6, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. SSalty

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    The dusty green stuff right?
    When I HAD a tank,the dusty green crap would build up every so often.I have to regularly swipe the magfloat across it about once every three day.If it builds up any faster say everyday then I knew it was time to run chemipure or carbon again.My guess organic waste=food for diatoms.,carbon and chemipure removes it and it actually works(or use too)for me.
     
    reeffreak, Nov 6, 2007
    #3
  4. SSalty

    SSalty Team Liquid Force

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    North Dakota
    RO water out of my own R.O system. I will try some phosguard. Thanks.
     
    SSalty, Nov 6, 2007
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.