Amonia help needed

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by joshuashih1, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. joshuashih1

    joshuashih1 Seahorse Owner

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    i have a 10 gallon saltwater fish tank and it has a hang on the back filter, live rock, and a power head and a heater. Its amonia is level is 0.5 and i wanted to know how i could resalve this.
     
    joshuashih1, Jan 6, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. joshuashih1

    Sakura2282 Reef lover!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    How long has the tank been set up?
     
    Sakura2282, Jan 6, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. joshuashih1

    joshuashih1 Seahorse Owner

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    more then a year
     
    joshuashih1, Jan 6, 2014
    #3
  4. joshuashih1

    Cathic Fish Wrangler

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    I'd remove the HoB, do a water change, post some more parameters for us. Also, whats the stock what are you feeding and what are you using to test the water with?
     
    Cathic, Jan 6, 2014
    #4
  5. joshuashih1

    joshuashih1 Seahorse Owner

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    why would i need to remove the hob I have done a water change within the last month and i have not fish in the tank but I have had a baby long horn cow fish in the tank for about 6 months and was feeding it only what it could eat in 2 min once a day and now there is no stalk in the tank unless there is still a anenome crab. But I do not know if its still alive
     
    joshuashih1, Jan 6, 2014
    #5
  6. joshuashih1

    emmett0122

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Liverpool, PA
    what for test kit are you using
     
    emmett0122, Jan 7, 2014
    #6
  7. joshuashih1

    joshuashih1 Seahorse Owner

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I am using the api saltwater test kit and its been working out fine it was just already opened when I got it and i am only able to test amonia nitrite and high range ph and my nitrite is 0 and my amonia is as I told you guys earler is 0.5
     
    joshuashih1, Jan 7, 2014
    #7
  8. joshuashih1

    emmett0122

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Liverpool, PA
    the api test kit will sometime show a slight green tent sometime your might be getting a false reading if you can take a water sample to you lfs and have them test your water to confirm your reading
     
    emmett0122, Jan 7, 2014
    #8
  9. joshuashih1

    bwilhite

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    usually something dies that causes ammonia spikes so really just water changes is the best way to remove it.
     
    bwilhite, Jan 7, 2014
    #9
  10. joshuashih1

    emmett0122

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Liverpool, PA
    but if the tank has a good bio filter you should never see ammonia i know api test will show slight green without having ammonia
     
    emmett0122, Jan 7, 2014
    #10
  11. joshuashih1

    emmett0122

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Liverpool, PA
    and having 0 nitrites and having ammonia is either 2 things either her lost his bio filter and the tank i cycling in witch case he should see nitrites start to climb or he is getting a false reading on his ammonia test
     
    emmett0122, Jan 7, 2014
    #11
  12. joshuashih1

    joshuashih1 Seahorse Owner

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I do not have a lfs close to me that will test my water for me (I do have one close to me I can even walk to it, but they just do not test water for people) but i think that petco may and I have one close but I cant count on them
     
    joshuashih1, Jan 7, 2014
    #12
  13. joshuashih1

    Sakura2282 Reef lover!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    +1 @emmett0122 Sometimes API test kits for ammonia aren't very accurate. If you don't see your nitrites increasing it could be you are getting a false reading in your ammonia.
     
    Sakura2282, Jan 7, 2014
    #13
    emmett0122 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.