Any Suggestions?

TankJr

Reefing newb
Hi, I am new to saltwater aquariums and already need serious help. I have inherited 2 tanks. Both are saltwater tanks one being 75 gallons and the other is 50 gallons. I have checked the water quality and have found that most of it is normal-to-acceptable except my nitrites seem a bit high. Temperature is normal and feeding is normal. The smaller of the two tanks is fishless now :( as I have lost my dottyback. The rocks were turning blackish, and the plant life well...lets just say there use to be things flourishing oone the rocks but thsat all stopped after my cleaning. I did a cleaning because there was a huge outbreak of bubble algae. (both tanks have this problem). My larger tank has 3 remainning fish, but seem a little stressed...by this i mean the clowns are nipping at the anematy ? sorry for the spelling> and the other fiish i believe is a royal granmal? (small guy) is hiding alot. not to mention the cleaner shrimp is as well. There is a large outbreak of green algae, both on the rocks and on the glass...so much the tank appears heavily green in tint. Hair algae is growing everywhere and by rocks are flourishing with both plants and green clumps of hairlike algae.
The bottom of the tank used to be covered in small white coral/rock mixture that has turned dk red to blackish in color.

I am running a fluval filtration unit and penguin 350 with two fresh filter packs. the smaller tank has a smaller fluval and penguin 330. There is also red algae on the rear glass of the smaller tank and i just recently added some reef buffer to try and stabilize things but man it is hard. All my turbo snails die within a 4-week period, and my fox face which was in my smaller tank died quickly as well.

Im not sure what to do but giving up is not my way. I have loked over several post and my phosphate levels are the only issue i have not tested. (I dont have the correct paper and color chart to test the water with.)