Brand New To Reef Aquariums

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by JasonLee, May 13, 2010.

  1. JasonLee

    JasonLee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I'm getting really bogged down by lots of websites and books that contradict each other. I have a 50 litre aquarium that I want to set up as a nano reef.

    From what I can gather other than the tank the only stuff that is really vital is:
    Filter
    Lights
    Heater
    Hydrometer

    I have purchsed a test kit, salt, base rock and sand.

    Live rock is going to cost me $25 per kilogram.

    Once set up all I want living in it will be a few coral gobies, 2 peppermint shrimp and some mushroom coral,

    Does this sound reasonable???

    I'd like any and all help possible please.
     
    JasonLee, May 13, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. JasonLee

    Jmck

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Australia
    Jmck, May 13, 2010
    #2
    JasonLee likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. JasonLee

    JasonLee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I actually read your article just before I signed up here.... about 10 minutes prior.
    Was a great help thanks
     
    JasonLee, May 13, 2010
    #3
  4. JasonLee

    Jmck

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Australia
    Good to know that it helped, everything you have said though looks like you are on the right track, Im not sure exactly what you can put in a nano tank but with only a few fish you should have no bio load issues and corals and CUC (shrimps and snails and so forth) wont add too much load to the tank.

    As another note, you can purchase part live and base rock, you definitely need the live rock, but that will seed your base rock and turn it live. a very useful little tool to save some money. Mine is still turning live but in 1 month should be covered!
     
    Jmck, May 13, 2010
    #4
  5. JasonLee

    JasonLee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I'm mainly looking to have the 2 or 3 coral gobies and a decent clean up crew along with the mushroom corals as everything I've read said that the mushroom corals prefer a lower light level and lower water flows...
    Am trying to keep my costs down and have priced the living rock and have a fair bit of base rock.
    Would 3kg of live rock be enough for my 50 litre aquarium to get it cycled?
    I was planning on having the tank running for about 2 months before I add the corals, fish and the 2 peppermint shrimp but adding the clean up crew after one month....
     
    JasonLee, May 13, 2010
    #5
  6. JasonLee

    Jmck

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    276
    Location:
    Australia
    Just make sure the tank is cycled before you add anything, if its cycled after 1 month, thats great!

    umm, I put 13kg in when I started my tank, so I would say 5-8 kg would be more ideal.

    just make sure, even with mushroom corals your still somewhere close to 4 watts per gallon, it is always preferred to have that amount for all corals but probably can get away with 2-3watts per gallon
     
    Jmck, May 13, 2010
    #6
  7. JasonLee

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    Hello and welcome to the site Jason...sounds like you're on the right track, Josh has you covered. You'll need 1-2lbs of rock for your tank as your primary filtration...most of it can be base rock and just a few pieces of live rock to seed the rest. 2 months sounds like ample time to allow the tank to set-up, and should be ready for corals. As far a s lighting, a set of t-5's will be perfect for you, and allow you took keep a variety of corals. Make sure you get yourself a power head or 2 to circulate the water. Good luck, and feel free to ask questions before purchasing something, that way we can give you an honest opinion, versus the lfs talking you into buying something you don't need. Ps, we like pics also (hint, hint) :)
     
    Smitty, May 13, 2010
    #7
  8. JasonLee

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Welcome to the site Jason!
     
    BL1, May 13, 2010
    #8
  9. JasonLee

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    That Josh is a pretty smart feller.:D
    Welcome aboard.
     
    yote, May 13, 2010
    #9
  10. JasonLee

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Welcome to the site Jason!

    I'm go to take it that Adelaide is in Australia.
     
    reeffreak, May 13, 2010
    #10
  11. JasonLee

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    Seems not enough was said about good flow in this thread. Good flow in your tank will be crucial in keeping nitrates low and the overall tank healthy. You may need to get a small powerhead and put it in the back corner. Many people get a Koralia for this but in a smaller tank they really jut out too much into the tank display. Get a compact, small powerhead for cheaper.
     
    sen5241b, May 14, 2010
    #11
  12. JasonLee

    JasonLee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    thanks for all the great advice everyone and for making me feel welcome. :D
    yes Adelaide is in Australia.
    I will post pics and stuff as I go along.. ( I get rather snap happy when it comes to things like this!!!)

    thanks for the advice guys.
    Is a power head really that important or can I just add a submersible filter in the tank along with the hang on filter I already have?

    I want to try (and I stress try!!!!) to cycle it for as long as I can before adding the corals and then finally my 2 peppermint shrimps and the coral gobies.
     
    JasonLee, May 14, 2010
    #12
  13. JasonLee

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Yes, powerheads are very important for SW tanks unless, you're keeping something like Sea Horses
     
    BL1, May 14, 2010
    #13
  14. JasonLee

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    Skip the submersible filters and go with powerheads/circulation pumps.
     
    reeffreak, May 14, 2010
    #14
  15. JasonLee

    coolhandgoose

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Welcome to the site.
     
    coolhandgoose, May 14, 2010
    #15
  16. JasonLee

    JasonLee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I'm just worried about the small amount of space in the aquarium and power heads being too strong for the mushroom corals.... I've read bad things happen to them if the currnet is too strong...
     
    JasonLee, May 14, 2010
    #16
  17. JasonLee

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Unfortunately, we all need to give up space in our tanks for powerheads. Koralia makes nano powerheads that put out less flow 240-425 gph. Just make sure they're not blowing directly onto the corals and it shouldn't be too much flow for them
     
    BL1, May 14, 2010
    #17
  18. JasonLee

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    I forget 50l is pretty small.The external filter might be enough flow.Still,I would skip the internal filter and hold off on the powerhead unless you feel it is needed.
     
    reeffreak, May 14, 2010
    #18
  19. JasonLee

    JasonLee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    THanks everyone for your great advice..... I'm still pretty nervous about setting everything up (cos I know I'm going to get upset over any deaths) but I think now I'm definatly on the right path for setting up my nano.
     
    JasonLee, May 14, 2010
    #19
  20. JasonLee

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    BL1, May 14, 2010
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.