Can sand be changed out?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by Northstar24, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. Northstar24

    Northstar24 The Tang Herder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Okay, so I started my tank a few months ago and the sand is the stuff from Marco rocks, it came as part of a package when I bought dry rock

    This stuff is so fine that even a small powerhead kicks it up and has lead to the water having a slight haze, and the sand got everywhere, including the overflows, the bottom of my sump, and in the skimmer body.

    I want to switch to something a little heavier I currently have about 2 inches of this stuff on the bottom of my tank, with some spots a little deeper due to the sand shifting around

    Can I swap some of this crap out for something a little heavier that wont constantly blow around and cloud things up? My main concern is releasing the sulfide gas I've read about in other threads, I don't know how long a tank needs to run before that is an issue.

    Assuming I can swap it out, I can just use a cup to grab the sand currently in the tank to pull it out, and replace with something heaver (some sort of aragonite sand) Correct?

    Should I pull all of this crap out, or pull out some of it and put heavier stuff on top?
     
    Northstar24, Dec 4, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Northstar24

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    I removed my fine sand by siphoning it out with a large 1 1/2" hose. It came out very quickly and so did everything in it. Had to replace about 40% of my water after wards but I didn't have any problems what so ever. I replace the substrate with larger stuff too.
     
    dcantucson, Dec 4, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Northstar24

    reeffreak

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,316
    Likes Received:
    2,078
    Location:
    Clarksville,Tn
    I have had the same problem as you.I put a layer of larger grain on top and in the corners where it really won't stay down,I will be putting some bigger pieces using GARF grunge.
     
    reeffreak, Dec 4, 2010
    #3
  4. Northstar24

    sen5241b

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,021
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    If a sand bed is old it may hold a lot of detritus. Some people have stirred up old sand beds and caused a huge cycle resulting in a mass die off. Deep stir a small section and look at how much detritus comes out.
     
    sen5241b, Dec 5, 2010
    #4
  5. Northstar24

    Northstar24 The Tang Herder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Its mostly the front corner that has issues. The tank has only been up since September, so its not super old, but probably old enough. I'm going to try and suck out the sand in that corner during my next water change, and replace it with some heavier sand. I'm more worried about the sulfide gas I've read about, how long does it normally take for that to be created in the bottom of the sand bed?

    Thanks for the suggestions
     
    Northstar24, Dec 10, 2010
    #5
  6. Northstar24

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,846
    Likes Received:
    881
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    I had to do the same thing, but mine was too coarse for my tastes. You can do as Dcan said and use tubing to get it out quickly. If you are worried about releasing any gases, or starting a cycle I would take it out over the course of 3 or 4 water changes.
     
    fastrd400, Dec 10, 2010
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.