Coral beauty died :(

sweetobsolete

Reefing newb
I had my coral beauty angelfish for one week (and one day) before she died suddenly on Saturday. Since I am completely new to saltwater aquariums, I thought maybe you guys could offer some insight. I'm obviously pretty sad about this (she was such a beautiful fish!) and I don't want to go and spend a lot of money on fish in the future and have them die again.

So, she was in a 47 gallon tank. I can't say the exact specs of all the levels off the top of my head, but I check them every day and they very close to what they are supposed to be (ph 8.something, ammonia almost zero, nitrites zero, nitrates almost zero). I probably should get a better testing kit for the ph and nitrates, as its hard to tell exact dimensions with the one I have. I know the nitrates and ammonia should ideally be non-traceable, but it doesn't seem like they would have been high enough to kill her. Temps are between 75 and 80.

There's a snail and a pink spotted watchman goby in the tank (she picked on the goby a little when I first put her in, but after they had each established their own territories they seemed to leave each other alone.)

There's crushed coral and live rock in the tank (and some regular non live rock). I don't know the exact poundage. I have a hang on back filter... like the kind that trickles water through carbon pads, and a small powerhead in there (I think its 500 gph or something like that?) I intend to get a protein skimmer in the future (when I can afford it) and another powerhead.

The lighting I'm not sure about (I got this tank and everything from craigslist). But it looks like just a standard florescent light.

She didn't have any signs of disease whatsoever. Beautiful color, normal eyes, swimming normally, eating whatever she could find (fed her frozen cubes made for angelfish). Just came home and found her dead at the bottom of her tank.