Coral newbie!!!

gaeus

Reefing newb
Hi guys and gurls!!

So, i've decided to build a 55gal reef tank with many many many corals....I want as much as possible LOL and why? Because for many years i've been in this hobby and NEVER I had the chance to add corals into my tank because I didn't have a waterchiller...and thats a MOST! specially when you live @ the tropic. Lucky me, and thanks to my prayers and human sacrifices(just kidding lol), I can actually get one in a few weeks. This is my first time so I did some research and found that montiporas, pocilloporas and zoanthids are great for starters....BUT THATS IT!?!?! :shock: There's no more I can start with!??! :grumble: I dont want to be all hasty and go buy any kind of coral without knowing how to keep it, ITS A FREAKIN LIVING ORGANISM AS I AM!! I have to be very careful, treat it nicely, but I dont want to be all monotonous and stay @ one line, I want some variety, you know?.........any recommendations!?!? :frustrat:

Thanks a LOT for the help people!!! :mrgreen:

Michael :bowdown::sfish:

Last edited:
shoot,there are some nice mushrooms and ricordia that are fairly easy,some leather corals such as toadstools,xenia,kenya trees,and colt corals,there are so many colors available for the zoas and palythoas that you can really add some nice colors,dont get me wrong there are alot more easy corals out there i just gave you an idea on some other corals,im sure someone else will chime in

Last edited:
Euphyllia's are good to start with, too (frogspawn, hammer, torch).

Monti's and the pocillopora are both SPS, which are generally a little harder to keep than the softs (zoas, mushrooms) and the LPS (frogspawn). So IMO, I would start with the easier stuff and work your way up to the SPS.

Im so glad I asked!! Euphylias and ricordias are super NICE I like them a lot! Im going to add those to the list. Next weekend I'll be posting pictures of the tanks. Thankyou a lot for the help guys!!