DIY Protein Skimmer

Hello,
I am very new to the hobby, about 3 weeks in. I have a 50 gallon saltwater tank with live rock right now. I am in the nitrogen cycle right now, so I wanted to go ahead and build my protein skimmer. I have a question though. I have built a counter current skimmer that is 4” diameter and water containing portion reduces to 2” at the top around 4’ foot high. This then enlarges back to 4” for the collection cup and all. I have attached a picture of the design I did in PowerPoint. The question is this:
What solutions are they for fulfilling the role of pump1 and pump2? My ideas are these:

1. Buy two pumps – one sucking and one blowing and balance the flow with a valve. With this I don’t know of a economic pump to use.
  2. Buy one bump that blow and sucks from the aquarium. I can’t find one of these either.
This system will be under the aquarium so a I need to get the water out of the tank and down to the skimmer then from the skimmer back to the tank at the same rate.
My last question for a expert is this:
What happens if one of the pumps fail? The tank with either overflow of the protein skimmer will over flow.
Any ideas on this problem?
Thank you for your expert advice ahead of time.

Attachments

• My_Skimmer_Design.jpg
    My_Skimmer_Design.jpg
    16.2 KB · Views: 23,637
Your skimmer should have only one pump and will need to be in/next your sump or you can use a hang on the back skimmer if you don't use a sump. Either way only one pump, and I haven't heard of anyone using a skimmer below the tank unless they had a sump. Coordinating two pumps is nearly impossible.