DIY sump for newbies! :)

lilreefgirl

Reefing newb
Hi everyone!
I want to start off by saying that I am VERY new to this hobby.
I have a 60 gallon tank that I am VERY SLOWLY setting up. I am going the DIY route as much as possible to save money on set up costs.

I have a 20 gallon sump planned - please let me know any comments on what I have drawn up. I also have questions about if/how to do certain things. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

My plan is to have a Mag 9.5 as my return pump. I am not getting a skimmer right away, as I dont plan to have any livestock for a while. I am planning on lights and skimmer purchased much later. However, I have planned the compartment for a Reef Octopus Extreme 160 as recommended by another forum member. If I end up with something smaller, then at least I have the room, as the 160 has a fair size footprint.

Please let me know what you think!
Cheers! :Cheers: Attached Files
doc.gif
sump plan.doc (57.0 KB, 9 views)

Here, I've added it again.
I have it in the DIY forum, but thought I could get more people reading it here too :)

The plan has evolved to a 29 gallon sump.

Attachments

• sump plan.doc
    57 KB · Views: 389
some reason when I open it in word (since its a .doc) nothing shows up just a blank page... you must have something we don't >.<

Your trying to nuke it out a bit there lilreef. You need a simple place for the tank to drain to. then a larger area which will end up being lower flow. Thats the fuge. Then you need a way to seperate that from your tank ie a piece of sponge. The last area is the finishing area where you keep your skimmer and return pump. Thats it. Nothing special. Just moving water is all really.

That should work just fine.:D

The reason for the baffles is to control bubbles.Without the baffles,your you'd get bubbles which would sucked into the return pump and cause micro-bubbles in the display.

VAreef: what do you mean by "nuke it out"?