Drill All at Once?

hatcat

Reefing newb
Hi All!

First I’d like to say thanks to everyone that posts here, I’m a newbie and I have learned a TON just by reading here and a few other sites. It’s great to be able to learn from others mistakes.

I’m starting a new 95 Gal tank and I want to drill it out first. I have done a tone of research and I'm comfortable with the process, however I still have a couple questions that I need clarification.

I’m planning on putting a 20gal sump underneath and want to prepare for a possible close loop system in the future.

I plan on putting two holes in each corner at the top in the back to feed the sump.
1) What is the best location to put the return? Center top?
2) For a close loop system, I thought I’d have one out and 2 or 3 returns, but where is the best place to locate these? Also, (I know this is a dumb one), but how do you prevent critters from being sucked up in the close loop system?

I tried to find the answers fist, however I was unable to find anything really specific. If an existing posting already exists, just point me in the right direction.

Thanks much
HatCat

I hat. Good luck with your tank drilling.
Dumb questions, but I'm sure you made sure your tank isn't tempered, correct?

Anyway, your overflow holes can be cut in the corners if you like, it keeps them out of the way.

Your return can be anywhere. If you put it in the middle, you cam plumb pvc to output wherever you like in the tank.

Read a lot about the closed loop before you make a decision. I was going to build one, but after some of the stories I've heard from users of this system, I decided against.

A good source, if you haven't been already, is : http://www.glass-holes.com

Good luck!

First off,welcome to the site.
Messiahs pretty well got you covered.