Getting Started...

SigEpLucas

Nano Reefer
Hi i'm new to LR and currently breaking down my 20g freshwater set-up to start into saltwater. I've been doing freshwater for quite some time and always wanted to make the transition so i'm finally gonna try. My current equiptment includes:

20g tall
AquaClear power filter rated for 30g
100w submersable heater
18" NO flourescent light

and I also plan to include:
Taan Rio Nano Skimmer rated for 20g
Hydor Koralia 1 Powerhead

I want to start with a FOWLR tank with this equiptment and i'll be using some live sand and rock and including 2 or 3 small fish (Most likey two clowns and a yellow tail damsel or something of that nature). Later when I have the money to upgrade to a PC lighting system or something like that I want to start including some corals and inverts.

Basically after this long post I'm just looking for some input on my equiptment as to what else I should maybe include and any tips for starting out with saltwater. All input good and bad is greatly appreciated.

Hi! I'm a newbie myself and can't really comment on your equipment, but I noticed the SigEp in your moniker. would that be Sigma Phi Epsilon? I'm a Kappa Delta. Welcome the the BEST reef forum on the web! The folks here are incredibly smart and giving in their information. Good luck with your new tank, sounds fun!

Catherine

you'll need some water testing equipment for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate... otherwise you have mostly everything you need.