Hello..an introduction and a lot of ???

poksal

Well? .. I AM trying
I'm new to the reef tank (1 month old) but am an old hand with fresh water, with a few years gap behind me. I always wanted to do the reef thing but we weren't so enlightened about reefs, ecology, and technologies to do it reasonabe enough until recently.

I have a 95 gal with the standard 100 pounds or so of live rock. My fish count is not high and I do not expect it to get high. I'm running a sump and so far haven't gained enough phophates to even keep chaeto growing and barely alive in the sump. My tests are all solid but my hardness runs around 220 ppm. This could be due to my having to add a pH buffer because my pH was being sucked down some by some of the rocks I had added. The pH has settled at about 8.3.

I cycled my system with bacteria from a bottle, live rock, maricle mud, and one fish. I never saw a single, even tiny, spike of ammonia, nitrates, or nitrites in any of the tests. My fish are all bright eyed and spunky, ... but being I'm a coral new-bee I have concerns about my corals and what is happening on my live rock surfaces.

I have a leather coral about 2" in dia that was in the sluf-off mode when I purchased it and I can't figure out a happy place for it and it has never once projected any tinacles.
Ideas and education please.

I have a rock with a coral that looks like little brown eyes on stalks that hasn't done much either.