Hello to these forums

Acrylic

Reefing newb
Hello everyone.

I've been reading these forums for a week or so and I like what I've seen.

I recently turned 30 and as a reward for surviving this long my folks will cover $1,500 worth of a gift of my choosing. I chose to get an aquarium.

:bounce:

Now I am a complete beginner when it comes to keeping an aquarium, but my plans are hopefully relatively modest.

Time to resize some pictures I've taken so I can post them, and then I'll describe what my setup is like so far.

In the meantime you'd best put on your newbie armor as I'm sure to attack you with wonderful newbie questions!

:D

So here is a picture of my aquarium as of two (?) days ago.

Aquarium001.jpg

It's all rather basic, I think. The tank itself is glass, a Perfecto/Marineland 90 gallon.

I'm using an Eheim 2217 filter. I believe this is referred to as a canister filter, am I right? I'm not down with all the lingo so bear with me.

There's 90+ lbs of miscellaneous live rock in there, along with 80 lbs of argonite sand/crushed coral. The live rock had been at the fish store for a couple months in the shop's sump and in various display tanks. This being the case, I didn't seem to have much of a cycle with my tank after I'd set it up. (Or maybe I'm not being patient enough)

At any rate, the lighting is simple, just one fluorescent bulb. I'm not worried about lighting right now, as I don't plan to get corals or anything light-dependant anytime soon.

I do want to get one or two powerheads to get some water circulation at the surface. I know I've got the spray bar deep in the tank, but I wanted good circulation around my rocks.

I've got little bugs (pods I guess) running around on the rocks, although in very modest numbers.

After testing the water for a couple days, the main parameters were all in line, zero ammonia, zero nitrites, zero nitrates (as near as I could tell with my test) and my Ph was 8.3 just last night.