Help Setting up my 125 Gallon Tank

arodz84

Reefing newb
Hello my name is anthony and i am new to all of this. Let me start by saying want i got and what i want. i have a 125 gallon tank that i had freshwater fish in about 7 month ago. now i want to setup a fish only saltwater aquarium. now i did some resreach and found that what i would need to get started is a wet/dry...protein skimmer...uv sterilizer....now i looked on ebay and found these item at reasonable prices...125 gallon wet/dry for about $200....coralife protein skimmers for about $120....coralife turbo-twist 3x 9 watt uv sterilizer for about $95....2 maxi-jet 1200 powerheads for about $50 and a digital heater for about $40...now this is all reasonable....now whats killing me is the prices of live rock...now i know the live rock is for looks and somekinda filter..do i really need to put live rock or can i do without it...if its for sometype of filter can i just add a canister or a hang-up filter instand of the live rock..now if live rock is really needed...i found this website called marcorocks.com and they have 75 Pounds of Key Largo dry Rock and
160 Pounds Bahamas Aragonite Sand
for $269...can i get this and put it in my 125 or do i have to cure it and if i do have to cure it can i do it in the tank or do i have to setup something just to cure the dry rock...and another question a have is on a ro systen and what is a fose band or something like that.....can anyone help me on setup up my tank

does your last name by any chance start with a Cu?

anyway... personally i'd dump the wet/dry idea, you really dont need it, you can set up your own sump and end up with somethng better, and cheaper...

I dont have a uv on my system, i just havent seen the need, some people swear by them....