Help Setting up my 125 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by arodz84, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. arodz84

    arodz84

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Hello my name is anthony and i am new to all of this. Let me start by saying want i got and what i want. i have a 125 gallon tank that i had freshwater fish in about 7 month ago. now i want to setup a fish only saltwater aquarium. now i did some resreach and found that what i would need to get started is a wet/dry...protein skimmer...uv sterilizer....now i looked on ebay and found these item at reasonable prices...125 gallon wet/dry for about $200....coralife protein skimmers for about $120....coralife turbo-twist 3x 9 watt uv sterilizer for about $95....2 maxi-jet 1200 powerheads for about $50 and a digital heater for about $40...now this is all reasonable....now whats killing me is the prices of live rock...now i know the live rock is for looks and somekinda filter..do i really need to put live rock or can i do without it...if its for sometype of filter can i just add a canister or a hang-up filter instand of the live rock..now if live rock is really needed...i found this website called marcorocks.com and they have 75 Pounds of Key Largo dry Rock and
    160 Pounds Bahamas Aragonite Sand
    for $269...can i get this and put it in my 125 or do i have to cure it and if i do have to cure it can i do it in the tank or do i have to setup something just to cure the dry rock...and another question a have is on a ro systen and what is a fose band or something like that.....can anyone help me on setup up my tank
     
    arodz84, Nov 18, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. arodz84

    project5k

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seguin Tx
    does your last name by any chance start with a Cu?

    anyway... personally i'd dump the wet/dry idea, you really dont need it, you can set up your own sump and end up with somethng better, and cheaper...

    I dont have a uv on my system, i just havent seen the need, some people swear by them....

    as for the live rock, yea, you really should have some, (acutally the normal reccomendation is 1.5 to 2 lbs per gallon of tank) if for no other reason than to give your fish some hideing places... but it is a wonderfull natural filter for the system... Its so good infact, that its the only filter i have in my system... its a place for all the "good" bacteria to grow, and clean the water...

    the other thing that you might consider, is getting a smaller qty of live rock, and then make some yourself, like i did... i made more than half of the rock that is in my tank myself, at home, with basic tools, and stuff i got from the local home depot and the local fish store...

    Either way, if your starting from a basically dry tank, i would also suggest that you look into drilling the tank, you'll wish you had later down the road if you dont... Thats not to say that there arent lots of us that have undrilled tanks, but, drilled is a cleaner looking setup, and personally i feel that it eliminates a couple potential failure points...

    A RO system, or Reverso Osmosis/ DeIonizer filter, is something that you can get, and use at home so that you dont have to "go get water" like i do... see you cant just use tap water with de-chlorinator in a salt tank, well, ok, i guess you can, but i really dont suggest it, there are all sorts of stuff in our tap water, thats just fine for us, but not so good for the lives inside that tank... Well the filter takes almost all that stuff out of your tap water, so you can make your own water at home, rather than going to walmart or wherever you can to buy your water... for this you can look at www.purewaterclub.com thats where i placed my order for mine yesterday...(and i have a ups tracking # in my email right this min)
     
    project5k, Nov 18, 2009
    #2
    arodz84 likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. arodz84

    SeaBee Ha Ha Thats Funny!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    189
    If you're new to all this I dont think you should drill your tank, let a pro do it, or someone with experience, you can destroy your tank in seconds. Get all the live rock you can afford, you can add more as you go, we all do it. I still move my rocks around all the time. Uv is optional. Have you heard of "cycling" the tank? YOu need to get some water in there and stablize the temp and stuff, then add some rock then the sand. No fish for a month! The tank will cycle and then you can add the skimmer and stuff. Also, I was going to do a FOWLR tank, thats fish only with live rock, but quickly went to a reef as soon as I saw all the cool corals you can get. So the point is you might need a better light down the road. We're here to help and we all like pictures too.
     
    SeaBee, Nov 18, 2009
    #3
    arodz84 likes this.
  4. arodz84

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    Welcome to the site Arod.
    Looks like Project and Seabee have you pretty well covered.
     
    yote, Nov 19, 2009
    #4
    arodz84 likes this.
  5. arodz84

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,443
    Likes Received:
    975
    Location:
    VA USA
    You can slowly add your rocks as you build your tank. Or buy a mix of some live rock, and some base rock. Scour craigslist for people taking down their tank...just beware of hitchikers in their rocks.
     
    wontonflip, Nov 19, 2009
    #5
    arodz84 likes this.
  6. arodz84

    arodz84

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Na my last name doesn't being with cu....its rodriguez....ok so far my wife just bought me the wet.dry.....so I'm going to set that up with an over flow box....then ima buy the skimmer...the uv ster. And etc....sois it best for me to cycle the tank first....do I tank the empty tank and full it up with water and then cycle it then add all the sand and what ever rocks I but to the tank.....should I buy an ro system instead of puttin tap water...I think it might be ez for me as a beginner to put the ro system due to all the syht in new york water...lol....an ro system give me pure water then all I have to do is add the right amount of sand and the little extra....let me know guy....I'm dependin on all of ya...lol
     
    arodz84, Nov 19, 2009
    #6
  7. arodz84

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,443
    Likes Received:
    975
    Location:
    VA USA
    You should put the sand and rocks in once you put in water (rinse out the sand if it's not live, otherwise it will make your tank cloudy everytime you stir the sand). You'll need them to grow your bacteria.

    An ro/di is a good investment, but not necessary. I bought one, and it's been on of my best investments. I've got 3 kids and I can't always run to the store (nor do I want to) to get distilled water. Plus I don't always feel like spending. This way, even though it's using my own water, my bill hasn't significanly gone up anyway (except last month when I kept it running 2 1/2 days straight to fill up my 125g hehehe).
     
    wontonflip, Nov 19, 2009
    #7
    arodz84 likes this.
  8. arodz84

    arodz84

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Thank u guys for the help....ok let me start by explain what I'm going do....from what you guys said and what I read on other websites.....I'm going to put a wet/dry with a over flow box...the wet/dry has enought room to put the protein skimmer ...heater...etc.....then I'm going to but from marcorocks.com the 70 lbs dry rock and 160 lbs sand and put all that in the tank....then I'm going to buy like 10. Lbs of live rock...I'm going to put tap water from my sink....now b4 I put the rock and sand...can I make the salt water in the tank it self then put the sand and rock in til it cycles for a while....now can someone tell me what next....if the cycle goes well ...then will I be ready for fish....someone then me know....thank
     
    arodz84, Nov 20, 2009
    #8
  9. arodz84

    coolhandgoose

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Be very careful about using tap water. I can't use it where I am because the dKH is through the roof. I would highly suggest you buy RO/DI water from say WalMart or get a unit to make your own. Some fish stores will also sell you water, but that may be a bit pricier.
     
    coolhandgoose, Nov 20, 2009
    #9
    arodz84 likes this.
  10. arodz84

    arodz84

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    Ok.....but other then that I'm I headin on the right road
     
    arodz84, Nov 20, 2009
    #10
  11. arodz84

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    It sounds like a good plan except for the tap water :)

    I would make the saltwater in the tank first, give it a couple days to dissolve (use powerheads the whole time to keep it mixing), then when it is at the right salinity, add your rock and sand.
     
    Bifferwine, Nov 21, 2009
    #11
    arodz84 likes this.
  12. arodz84

    dcantucson

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    20,917
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Looks like everyone has you covered.
    Welcome to the site.
     
    dcantucson, Nov 22, 2009
    #12
    arodz84 likes this.
  13. arodz84

    arodz84

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY
    thank all you guys and girl...lol....i appreciate all the help...ima keep all u guys posted
     
    arodz84, Nov 22, 2009
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.