How to pick live rock ?

crazy cajun

Reefing newb
Ok im new to the saltwater world and building a 90 Gal reef tank, im looking to put live Fiji rock in my tank and was wondering what to look for when purchasing my rock is their anything specific to look for when purchasing good Fiji rock from LFS??

If you don't have any rock or sand I would suggest you look at Live Rock - Tampa Bay Saltwater Aquacultured Live Rock and get their "package" you will get fresh live rock right from the ocean, plenty of hithikers, cuc, and many other extras. And with the package the price is comparable to what you will pay just for LR from the LFS.
If you decide to get it from your LFS though you should look for rocks with plenty of color, also it should feel lighter than it looks (means there are plenty of crevices for creatures), and when you pull it out of the tank it should smell like the ocean. If it smells like rotten eggs there is a lot of things dying on it. Finally bring buckets with you so you can put the rock you buy into them to keep as much alive during transport as possible.

I personally look for pieces that are porus..they weight less and have more spots from pods and other biology to grow.I always look for pieces that I can stack to make..or already have small fish sized holes in them so they can hide. If there is a disagreement in the tank they can flee to saftey.

Coraline growth. The more the better imo!

I also make sure i'm not picking up rocks that have small red flecks all over it..also known as flatworms. I know two LFS that have flatworms. you don't want flatworms. If you see something on a rock and don't know what it is. Ask. There are some common pests you can try to avoid picking up.

If im about 2 weeks away from having my tank up and running and i find someone selling cured live rock that has been in a tank for 2 years how long could i keep it in a plastic bin with pump circulation until i get the tank up????