Inherited Husband's reef tank.

elysium

Reefing newb
I would like to bring my husband's reef tank back to life. To say I'm a novice would be an insult to all the novice reefers out there. I know little outside the names of some of the coral and algae. This was my husband's hobby, not mine.

What I do know: His tank is 125 gallons, it has over 60lbs of live rock. It has live sand. Some of the crabs are still alive. The fish have died. Most of the coral died. It still has some in the zoo family and tons of a palm tree/fern like soft coral. It has a very large carpet anemone still living. It survived by eating the fish. And I've taken out buckets of grape caulerpa which killed off all the remaining coral (also taken out). The skimmer's off (in the garage somewhere). There are two plastic tanks that go under the tank (also out in the garage). The four lights say Current on them and have 'moon lights' and fans on them. There are four filters on the tank. I have not tested the tank. I have added filtered water (enough to keep the filters going). I want to clean it a bit better before taking pics.

What I need to know at the moment: Any advice on taking over a tank that has been neglected for a long time and has been taken over by algae and worms. Can it be recovered? If so does it take someone who knows what they are doing? Can live rock & sand go through some cycle to kill off all the unwanted and cycled back for growth? Sun cured maybe? If this is more than someone beginning to learn should attempt I'd like to know before I start buying books. Thanks. =) Lisa

Hello and welcome to the site...glad to have you. "Take a deep breath with me" (wheeeew). :)
To answer you question, yes, the tank can be nursed back to health after being neglected...and yes, someone with little experience can do it. You've come to the right place for help. :)