Light setup from lfs

jfannin

Reefing newb
Hello their. I must say I love this forum just FYI. So I am just getting into the saltwater hobby and have done a lot of reading over the last few weeks. So I know very little about alot of stuff. I know that lighting has to do alot with what I'm able to have in my tank so I was wonder if this light setup was any count for what I want. I'm wanting to do a reef tank of coarse but in not sure what all this light system would be good for. AquaticLife T5 HO Aquarium Lighting System - 4 T5 HO and 4 Lunar - 48 in. | T5 Lighting | Lighting Systems | Aquarium - ThatPetPlace.com.
This is the setup. I was planning on doing a 55g glass tank closed top if I could but I don't wouldn't want to run a cooling system. Any guidence would be great. Thanks

That's a nice light. If you run a sump you may not need a chiller, depending on how hot you keep your house temp and where you live. But nice light. That will handle almost all your coral needs I think.

ok i got my tank today. i decided to go with a 40g tank that is 36Lx18Dx16H. should be great for the lighting im hopping to go with, but my biggest concern is a filter setup because i came across an very old post that has me lost about the filter setup i should run. it was saying/debating that a Can setup is a waist and actually a bad thing for saltwater reef tank, and a Sump is a MUST.

i thought that a Can setup with a good skimmer was a good way to go. so another words, i thought (for exp) a Flu 305 or 405 did the same as a Sump. is that not correct, because i was going to run on my 40g reef with a Flu 305 or 405 and a nice protein skimmer and NO SUMP. HELP :( im lost