Modifying an aquaclear?

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by the reef kid, May 19, 2010.

  1. the reef kid

    the reef kid hi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I'm going to be setting up a 20 gallon reef soon, and I was planning to use an aquaclear filter for flow, and so I could put a little fuge in, as I'm not planning on a sump, but how would I do this? I've seen it done before, but do you just stick sand, rock and macro in and hope for the best? Should I be worried about sand getting kicked up in the 500 GPH of the filter? I may use somewhat coarse sand, but still...

    Anyother tips from people who have done this are also needed/wanted.
     
    the reef kid, May 19, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. the reef kid

    Smitty

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Location:
    Chicago/Oaklawn IL
    I would skip the sand and instead use pieces of rock rubble at the bottom...then place your micro-algae(cheato) on top of the rocks. Also, get yourself a small clamp on light for it, to keep your micro algae growing.
     
    Smitty, May 19, 2010
    #2
    the reef kid likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. the reef kid

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    +1 Smitty
     
    yote, May 20, 2010
    #3
  4. the reef kid

    the reef kid hi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Alright, thanks guys :D

    as for the light, if I had T5's, and left the top of the filter open, would that do the job?
     
    the reef kid, May 20, 2010
    #4
  5. the reef kid

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Yeah that'd probably be fine. Algae doesn't need a lot of light to grow.
     
    Bifferwine, May 20, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.