My own water

Slimkasey

Reefing newb
So I want to make my own water, had enough trying to figure out a dilution with another product.

What do I need? and any preferred products or equipment?
Please remember I'm a Newbie

Thank you for this community!

You want to use these to things:
RODI Water, which is water that you see in the cooler bottles. Tap water is no good, although there is one or two people here that beg to differ. You can get filters that give you RODI water, they are about 150 bucks.
And salt. Instant Ocean is what you want. They have a product called Reef Crystals, or you can just go with their regular. Its just reef crystals have all the additives and calcium.
The salt looks like this:
Aquarium_Systems_Instant_Ocean.jpg

(I didnt quiet understand the question, but hope this helps)

All you actually need to mix it is a bucket, a heater and a powerhead. You'll also need a refractometer to test the salinity.

Go for a refractometer or a Hydrometer, preferably refractometer.
It looks like a telescope, that is what you read your salinity with. You want to be in the Specific Gravity (Salinity) of 1.026
Hydrometer-vs-Refractometer.jpg

And there are many other pieces of equipment but i think this about covers the mixing your saltwater.
And yes Tiesto is the best there is!! :D

EDIT: Ninj'd :disappoin :p

I use a small pump to mix the water. When I'm ready to change the water I'll put a hose on the pump to take the water out of my tank, then I'll use that same pump to put the new saltwater into the tank.

If your going to your LFS (Local Fish Store) Watch out for their advice, not all are legitimate, some give advice so they can make a quick buck, so if your unsure about something dont buy it, there is always next time!