need algae schooling

banthonyb71

Reefing newb
ok. Im a newb here on the forum. you can check out my thread on "showcase your tank"(46 bow front build) to see where Im at in my newly cycled tank. Actually still cycling.

basically I have roughly 30 Ibs live rock and 30 Ibs of dry rock, a dozen or so hermit crabs, two peppermint shrimp and a clown fish. my LPS says before I can start adding more livestock or corals, I want to what until I start seeing corraline algae growth. He says this is a good indicator my tank is where it needs to be.

My question is this....how do you keep unwanted algae down while trying to grow corraline algae? Wont the clean up crew eat corraline too? Whats the diffrence in how they grow and what ways do I go about getting "wanted" algae to form and "unwanted" algae down. So far I now to use RO water.

Last edited:
Prolly shoulda waited to add your crabs and such until the cycle is done. The corraline isn't the same type of algae as the brown and green bubbly and hair stuff. You won't need to worry about the crabs and such eating the corraline. It's a hard calcium type algae.

When the corraline starts spreading is a good indicator your tank is maturing, however, you do need to look at other parameters. Get a good test kit and test your water for pH, Nitrates, Nitrites, and ammonia.

The bad algae grows from nitrates and phosphates being high. Also, expect a nice brown algae bloom near the end of your tank cycle. Everything will look like it has brown dirt on it. It will go away though and this normally happens

Control your Nitrates with regular water changes and macro algae.

+1 VA.