Needed Equipment

tanela

Reefing newb
I am new to saltwater and I am in the research stage. In a few months I would like to set up my 55 gal as a reef tank. What kind of equipment do I need. I am doing research (books, internet,etc) but thought I would ask you guys what equipment you recommend. Also what kinds of fish do well in a 55 gal reef tank.

I have had freshwater tanks for about 15 years and have wanted a saltwater tank for about as long. Any information, advice or tips you can give me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Tanya

depends on if it is going to be a reef or just fish. you will need a good skimmer and good lights if you are wanting to get coral or nems.

the basics are a good set of T-5 lights, a heater, protein skimmer, 1-2 lbs of live rock for biological filtration a couple of powerheads for oxygenation of the water and current for the fish and corals, and a hang on the back filter (HOB) to clean up the water and make it sparkling, altho that is not an absolute.

Many of us end up getting sumps to hide our equipment, filter socks, set up refugiums and go all out. a tank can be successful without all that stuff. Do your research and find the kind of tank that fits for you. a 55 gallon tank would be a nice starter tank, but my experience is that going as big as you can afford and have space is the wisest way to go as your desire for fish will expand far past what a 55 will hold.

-Doc

I am starting with a 55 gallon because it's what I have. My first time out I didn't want to buy a new tank. I'm sure once I really get it going and see how much I like, I will end up with a bigger tank. :mrgreen:

Thanks for the info, guys. It helps a lot. Some of the stuff I am ready is a little confusing. There just seems like so much that is needed. It seems a lot more labor intensive then my freshwater tanks ever were. :D But I am excited to learn all I can. I want my tank to be the best it can be.

Tanya