new 100gal build need help!

freshreef

Reefer Addict
hi guys my 45gal reef has been doing awsome so i decided to start a large tank:mrgreen:. I convinced my buddys dad to sell me a 100gal that he has had sitting in the basement for years so $100 latter and a pain in the ass car ride latter i have a 100gal tank in my living room!:bounce:

so now i have some questions. first can i scrape all the silacone and reseal the tank? it has been sitting a long time
and can i have my lfs drill and put in overflows for this tank? i have no experience with rr tanks but thought this would be the best for long term.

last is any sudgestions on fish i am thinking about a FOWLR so pritty open to ideas just realy cool and colorfull fish!:Cheers:

Clean it with vinnegar to start then look at the silicone. You can only use certain types safely so wait to hear from someone that knows on that. For the drilling I just installed overflows on mine, but you can eitherget your own diamond drill bit and look it up in youtube there are videos of this being done. Or find a glass shop or fish store that is willing to do this, but you will have to check with the tank manufacturer to see what is tempered. If it is tempered it can't be drilled. Usually the bottom is and the sides aren't.

Congrats on the new tank...IMO, I wouldn't drill holes in it, you run the risk of cracking it, especially since it's so old, just install overflows; like kmart said, you don't know if its tempered or not...
clean it with vineger, and if it needs to be sealed, use a clear water based silicone, but yes, remove the old silicone first...
if going with just FOWLR, a good rule of thumb is 1 to 2 lbs of rock per gal...you could do half base rock and half live rock to start off...
then you have to decide if you are going with a peaceful community tank, or, an aggressive tank.
but you have time to decide, cause it takes time and patience in this hobby.:D