New but excited

ReelNorth

Reefing newb
Hey all.

This looks like a really great forum.

I have been keeping fish for a few years, starting with freshwater planted to african cichlids, and now to WC Moba Frontosa. I have always been fascinated by saltwater, since my uncle had a large reef tank in his wall I remember from when I was a young lad.

I am looking at a fish with live rock setup, and have some questions.

I currently have a 125 gallon (72x18x24" tall) that is not drilled. I will be drilling it to accomodate a sump and installing the overflows etc.

The sump that seems to be available locally is a 35 g acrylic.

I am looking at getting some base rock and live rock, protein skimmer, but from there, I am not exactly sure what other things I need.

I love the looks of triggerfish, but I guess they get a little big. What other things might I need to add - lighting etc, and what sort of fish and other animals would be recommended.

I appreciate all the help in advance.

Cheers

Welcome,The only thing I see you haven't stated is Live Sand/or some sort of substrate! FOWLR is definately a good start up...... Enjoy your journey- Triggers are beautiful fish

I've been seeing 1.5-2 lbs per gallon. I want to do the whole tank right, right from the start. What lights? What kind of fish could go with a trigger? Will the trigger eat the crabs etc?

I have too many unknowns to even ask the right questions

I've been seeing 1.5-2 lbs per gallon. I want to do the whole tank right, right from the start. What lights? What kind of fish could go with a trigger? Will the trigger eat the crabs etc?

I have too many unknowns to even ask the right questions

I would go for 1.5 lbs or a little higher, I've had 2 lbs and it looks nice if you set it up right.

For lights I would look into T5s or Metal Halides if your going to want corals which I would definetely do. But if you only want fish then the lights aren't an issue and just get some power compacts or something if you want.