New here... And need help!

Goldrapala

Reefing newb
Hello everyone,

I am new to saltwater aquariums... and new to the site. I have been hawking around her for the past couple weeks... and hope to learn alot... and eventually be a fellow resource to this site. But I am kinda worried if I may have , inadvertently, stepped into a problem.

Here it is...

I bought a 150gal saltwater fish tank (complete) from a friend who had successfully cultivated it for the past 4+ years. He had this tank and a larger coral-only tank... and did not want to continue both tanks. I bought his fish-only tank... along with the fish.

The tank was dismantled, transported, and then set up in my place by his professional fish guy back on April 3rd, 2012. The tank and the fish successfully made the trip form Upstate NY to my place... Southshore Boston, MA.

Tank: 150gal rectangular with loads of live rock
2 heaters, big filter system with under tank with bio-balls... overflowing to another under tank which houses the pump system back into main tank.

Fish: 1 Emperor Angel, 1 Flame angel, 1 dog-face puffer, 1 spanish hog fish, 1 snow-flake moray, 1 Long-fin Bannerfish, and one yellow fish I have yet to positively identify. Lemon Tang maybe?

Fish are all appear happy, up-front, displaying, and eating well.

On Monday... I started noticing brown algae on some of the flat rock shelves... it is growing little by little each day. I think that I now understand that the bio-filter is establishing itself.. and my tank is 'cycling'... with all those fish in there! My friend, who I bought the tank from... tells me not to worry... stay on the tests and water changes... and it will all work out fine.

Tank specs as of 1 hour ago:

PH - 8.4
NH3 - 0ppm
NO3 - 5.0pp
Copper -0 ppm
Salinity - 1.026
Temp 80degrees steady