New Tank Over Head?

owen386

Reefing newb
Hey All,

Alright I am brand new to This hobby only ever kept FW fish. Quick question is an over head just a submersible pump? Because I recently bought some equipment off someone and included was a pump can i use that as an overhead thanks

-Owen

Thanks So muchs that is exactly what I thought. and yes I meant Power Heads. So right now its just the pump i put it completly under water close to the top of the tank though, just every power head I have seen (pics) looks as the water flows into the tank i just have mine flowing through the pump and creating current in the tank. Do i just need to buy some pvc or whatever connection to bring the water partially above the tank as it can splash back into the water creating aeration or is it fine as is. Currently only have HOB filter, will be purchasing protein skimmer in the future.

Nope, you don't need to have it make a waterfall effect. The skimmer will aerate it just fine.

Get rid of the HOB filter - they are old and considered more or less obsolete. Having a good quantity of live rock and sand will provide adequate filtration provided you have good flow - I'd definitely recommend getting another powerhead to really move the water around. The goal is to try to keep stuff in suspension long enough to get picked up by the skimmer and not to let it settle to the ground and rot.

A good skimmer is a great place to start, and a bad place to try to skimp on money too much. That being said, the Octopus brand isn't bad, and is a lot of bang for the buck.