New to SW

woodchuck765

Reefing newb
LIke the title says I'm new to SW tanks and havent gone crazy buying anything yet, just bought a few books, The Conscientious Marine Aquarist and have read it at least a couple time the past few weeks

I still take care of my old 55 gallon tank thats at my parents house been running for over 9 years now

Decided to get back into aquariums a lil while ago after my wife and 2 year old daughter went to the LFS and brought me back there, well I missed it alot, and decided to just get back into it

What I'm thinking of doing is a nice fish and invert tank, no fancy corals or things like that but maybe a few anemonies and some feather duster worms, and crabs and what not, but would like to be able to get corals and other things if and when I get accustomed to the tank so I want to the tank to be ready with everything before I go out and just buy some corals.

but I have no idea what to buy, I have read the Sticky in this section about the buying guide but it doesnt really give specifics about what to get

am looking for filtration?? model numbers and what not would be great
prob want to go with a refugarium??

lighting, and pretty much everything else??

lol model numbers would be great again, this will prob be a 46gallon bowfront, or maybe a tank that i can find on craigslist for cheaper

all help is appreciated

thanks

First off,Welcome to the reef.
Just how much money are you willing to put into filtration?Theres several different ways you can go there.Ive seen great tanks with just a hang on back filter,And ive seen great tanks with filtration systems that would put rivil sea worlds.The best filter you can get since your planning on a reef is to go with about 2 pounds of live rock per gallon of water and a good skimmer.
https://www.livingreefs.com/forums/...-equipment/3335-ordered-my-skimmer-today.html
These are great skimmers for the price.But again,you can put as much money as you want into a skimmer.

Thanks for the welcome,