newb from DC with questions and pictures!

monkiboy

Reefing newb
hi guys/gals,

my name is marco. i'm from the washington, dc area.

i've had my 46 gallon bow-front tank for about two years now. it's been a FOWLR setup for a while and then i got an anemone and a clean up crew and things haven't really changed.

i'm a total newb sans the basic knowledge for maintaining the tank and basic components. i'd like to learn more about the various inverts, coral, fishies, and setups (specifically water flow and lighting) and believe strongly in the use of forums. i'm a huge car enthusiast and am really into motorsports and have relied heavily in the past for support from a community online and want to do the same with this hobby i've recently grow more serious about.

when setting up my tank, i unfortunately relied a lot on my local fish store that has a good reputation but i think also didn't have my best interests at heart. i wish i found this place sooner. as such, i don't really know too much about my fish except that they have well suited temperaments to live together, basic diet, stressors, etc. so if i dont call them by their appropriate species or name, please let me know - i'm here to learn! iv'e already learned that i have fish that should be in MUCH bigger tanks, and it makes me consider giving them away to someone with a larger system in place.

the following pictures are all piss poor as they were taken with a bad cell phone. i promise to start using the dslr soon!

i have a small setup, a 46 gallon bow front tank. i'm pretty creative and when i moved into the new house, i wanted a neat mounting solution for my tank. so, i took the front outside radius of the bowfront and matched the exterior wall to it and built a partition between my kitchen and living room that allowed for one to see through the tank for optimal viewing appreciation, haha.

the front:
WP_001835-1.jpg

the back:
WP_001837.jpg

my clown that hosts my feeding clip most of the day and all night: