Newcomer to Saltwater Aquariums

jivephish

Reefing newb
Hello everyone, new forum member here looking for advice and guidance!
I just bought a 30 gallon hex (24" tall, 20" across) that was previously used for a freshwater set up. So ill be using it to set up a saltwater aquarium with fish and live rock. I am brand new to saltwater aquariums, i have been reading some about it but some the advice from an experienced forum member i find to be much more helpful.

Here is the utilities checklist:
30 gallon Hex (24" tall by 20" across)
BAK-PAK 2R+ Skimmer with Filter

Coralife 20 Inch Aqualight With 1-96W 50/50 4-Tube

Powerhead (Not sure with what kind i want/need, any suggestions?)
Visi-Therm Deluxe Submersible Aquarium Heater 150 Watt
Hydrometer
Salt Mix
25-30lbs of liverock
livesand
Test Kit for saltwater/reef

I think thats about it. Am i missing something? Any suggestions on the set up, can anyone recommend a reliable online supplier with good pricing?

Ill be cleaning the tank this weekend, the local fish store say that by just using tap water would work fine because of the chlorine in it. Keep in mind the tank was used before for a freshwater set up, so i dont want any left over bacteria making things difficult in the future! Thanks for the advice guys!

Thermometer definitely, 2 powerheads (most are the same, just make sure its not too powerful, most powerheads say what size tanks they are designed for)

Vinegar will work great for cleaning the tank.

I think you have the check list down. Do your already have the stuff or is the list stuff you still need to buy? If it is things you still need to get I would go with a different skimmer. I dont know how well the bacpak works but I have read there not the greatest, however there are mods to make them better if you already have one. I just picked one up my self but my new tank
is still cycling so I'll know how good it is soon.