Nitrate levels are around 15 ppm help!

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by llduce10, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. llduce10

    llduce10

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    SO MY TESTING KIT CAME TODAY AND I TESTED MY WATER LIKE 3 TIMES , PH IS A LITTLE HIGH, AMMONIA IS AT A GOOD LEVEL, NITRITE IS AT A GOOD LEVEL, BUT MY NITRATE IS AT ABOUT 15PPM, I THINK THIS IS THE REASON WHY MY NEW SHRIMP DIED WITHIN HOURS...ANY ADVICE? I WAS PLANING TO GO OUT AND BUY NITRATE PELLETS TO PUT IN MY CASCADE 1000 CANISTER FILTER:death::death:
     
    llduce10, Feb 27, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. llduce10

    slm32123

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    New Carlisle, IN USA
    Tell us the exact results of everything. Not just "a little high, or at a good level," Please and thank you :)
     
    slm32123, Feb 27, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. llduce10

    llduce10

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    ph 8.2, ammonia 0 ppm, NITRITE 0 ppm, nitrate 15 ppm
     
    llduce10, Feb 27, 2012
    #3
  4. llduce10

    slm32123

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    New Carlisle, IN USA
    How are your phosphates. Your Nitrate level is not that high. Both of my reefs have about 5-10 ppm and everything is okay. I don't feel as if it's the nitrates that is causing the problem. However it is always better to have them lower. Buy some macro algae to grow in there, and make sure you do weekly water changes, about 10% at least.

    Also test everything else that you can and post results please.
     
    slm32123, Feb 27, 2012
    #4
  5. llduce10

    llduce10

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got to buy the other part to the master test kit that includes phosphates, if i have alot of red algae in my tank would that mean my phosphates are high
     
    llduce10, Feb 28, 2012
    #5
  6. llduce10

    slm32123

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    New Carlisle, IN USA
    Yes it would, get a phosphate test kit, and most likely some phosphate remover. If you go to a LFS, take some water with, see if they can test for phosphates, if they say it is high you will know you need some sort of phosphate remover, that way you only need to take one trip.

    Also, what is your temp and salinity?
     
    slm32123, Feb 28, 2012
    #6
  7. llduce10

    llduce10

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    my temp hovers around 77-78 degrees, and dont know my salinity, i am in the market to buy a better heater
     
    llduce10, Feb 28, 2012
    #7
  8. llduce10

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Having nitrates in the 10-15 range are enough to kill a shrimp, especially if they came from living in water without nitrates.
     
    little_fish, Feb 28, 2012
    #8
  9. llduce10

    llduce10

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    any advice i can use to remove it? i was thinking about using pellets in a micron bag in my canister filter
     
    llduce10, Feb 28, 2012
    #9
  10. llduce10

    AmberSunrise

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,130
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl
    Mine stays around 10-15ppm that is not that bad really. If you acclimated the shrimp long enough I dont think it would have killed it personally.

    I have about 4 different shrimp I always acclimate them for at least an hour with a drip.
     
    AmberSunrise, Feb 28, 2012
    #10
  11. llduce10

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    waterchanges or macro algaes will remove nitrates, protein skimmers prevent their formation
     
    little_fish, Feb 28, 2012
    #11
  12. llduce10

    ErinCahir Sausage Wrangler

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,985
    Likes Received:
    1,470
    Location:
    Englewood, CO
    YELLING!!!!

    But +1 to everyone.
     
    ErinCahir, Feb 28, 2012
    #12
  13. llduce10

    slm32123

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    New Carlisle, IN USA
    I don't see why 15 nitrates would kill his shrimp though. Especially if it was acclimated appropriately.
     
    slm32123, Feb 28, 2012
    #13
  14. llduce10

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Nitrates are toxic to inverts. I also dont understand why its become ok to have nitrates on this site, you want your nitrates at zero for the best health of your corals and inverts.
     
    little_fish, Feb 29, 2012
    #14
  15. llduce10

    llduce10

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am starting to understand the whole water chem thing....not sure if this helps i have to hermit crabs, that are doing well, and molt regularly..i think it comes down to i did not let him accumulate long enough..i think it was for about an hour, with no drip...tested water today, ...ammonia at 0, ph 7.8, nitrite at 0, nitrate at about 5.0
     
    llduce10, Feb 29, 2012
    #15
  16. llduce10

    markrj

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Build an algae scrubber.

    Dump the canister filter. It's a Nitrate factory.

    I did this 7 days ago. I had a canister filter (Magnum 350) I Had Nitrate levels around 15 a week ago.

    After one week with the algae scrubber operational, Nitrates are at zero.
     
    markrj, Feb 29, 2012
    #16
  17. llduce10

    slm32123

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    New Carlisle, IN USA
    IMO I don't really like where your PH is at. I believe most people try to keep it at about 8.0 at the latest. I think mine is 8.1 in my 27, and 8.2 in my 75.

    Little-fish, I wasn't really trying to say its okay to have nitrates. I was just trying to point out that everything has been okay with mine around 10, I am personally trying to save up for a biopellet reactor to help with getting them to 0 for myself.
     
    slm32123, Mar 1, 2012
    #17
  18. llduce10

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,713
    Likes Received:
    2,574
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Actually a pH of 7.8 is fine, but you should test right before your lights go out. I bet your pH will be much higher.
     
    little_fish, Mar 1, 2012
    #18
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.