Official Moronic Question Thread....( O.M.Q.T.)

pokerfish

daily puffer
Hi all, I'm a newbie (to the forum and to salt tanks) and am enjoying all the info here and want to give something back. Seeing that I have no experience, or expertise, I can only contribute what I do best...ask a lot of really moronic questions. My thought is that maybe there are some other idiots like me,only ones that are too afraid to ask the really dumb stuff...so here goes

1) when starting a tank and adding live rock....should you leave space behind your structure? Enough for swimming room? Or do you use back of tank to help support structure? You are just stacking live rock right? Or is there more to it?
See,told ya I was stupid!

Not at all a dumb question :) I have yet to have my reef set up but in my freshwater tanks I always left room behind the rocks. This gave the fish more swimming options. Also I think having a free standing structure adds a more natural appearance then a wall.

True, but when I look at pictures of some of these reef tanks, there is a lot of rock in them...unless they are glueing them together, seems like there might be a stability problem. Also, fish behind rocks doesn't seem visually satisfying...I once saw Springsteen from behind the stage, just wasn't as good....:censored: I'm OLD !

True, but when I look at pictures of some of these reef tanks, there is a lot of rock in them...unless they are glueing them together, seems like there might be a stability problem. Also, fish behind rocks doesn't seem visually satisfying...I once saw Springsteen from behind the stage, just wasn't as good....:censored: I'm OLD !