overflow g.p.h

fishbait

I found Nemo
i made a homemade overflow last night out of 3/4 pvc. i gave it a test run into the rubbermaid tub that i will be temporarily using for a sump. of course it seemed like this thing flowed 10,000 gph. does anyone know appx. what it would flow? it dumped about 5 gallons of water in about 10 to 15 seconds.

Seems like I remember seeing a calculator on the net once that allowed you to put in your desired GPH, and it would spit what size pipe you need. I haven't been able to find it yet, but I'll keep looking for you.

that is a very neat calculator john. im not very good at excel. but if i figured everything right i have a little over 1000 gph with 3/4" pipe.

argh! i typed a post for 30 minutes yesterday and for some reason it didn't post. i'm not sure if that is correct. but, i'm not using an actual box. it's just a piece of pipe with 2 90's stuck in the water. if i decide to use it i will put some type of screen over it so it won't suck up my critters. or build a box on the inside so it will skim off the top of the water. the question that i typed yesterday was, does the overflow box slow down flow? going through the u-tubes and into the box in the back, over baffles and then down the pipe. would it flow faster with just the pipe. i'm not very good at using excel. so i doubt that i figured it right. because it asked for square inches of flow area. so i put in 1/2 inch. which is what i guessed 3/4 pipe to be.

I'm a little confuse in what you are asking.How fast and how much water flows down to the sump depends on much water is return to the DT.Can you post pics of what you are trying to do.

1 inch train is usually between 600-800 so my guess would be between 400 - 600.

You can always get a little more, but the above will keep your floor dry :).

Brandon