Reef safe inverts

txfan

Reefing newb
Hi! I'm very new to the hobby and am carefully planning what I want to put in my tank. Its a 46 gallon bowfront with 4X39 watt t-5 lighting. Right now I only have water, sand, and rock in it. I am at least a month out from buying livestock, but it never hurts to plan ahead! My plan is a few fish(3-5), with a lot of coral. I love inverts as well. I was curious and didn't see a sticky about reef safe inverts. Is there a general rule of thumb when it comes to inverts and reefs? I would love for my tank to be full of all kinds of both but do not want to put things in my tank that will harm each other. Thanks in advance!

Live Aquaria is a great place to research reef safe inverts. Or reef safe fish for that matter. They have very good descriptions. I think most inverts are reef safe though. Trying to think of ones that are not. Some starfish maybe. But not the common ones.

Thanks. I've got a question that i'm sure has been beat to death, but are there any inverts that should not be added into a new aquarium? I've read that some things need a more mature aquarium such as shrimp. Thanks again.

shrimp and crabs you can add anytime, as well as brittle stars and serpent stars. I would stay away from other starfish until the tank is well established. Clams I would wait until you have good water quality. Inverts I would never add to a tank are scallops, sand shifting and horseshoe crabs.

shrimp and crabs you can add anytime, as well as brittle stars and serpent stars. I would stay away from other starfish until the tank is well established. Clams I would wait until you have good water quality. Inverts I would never add to a tank are scallops, sand shifting and horseshoe crabs.