Salinity too high??

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by kennyminireef, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. kennyminireef

    kennyminireef

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Harrisburg PA
    Hi all my question is my salinity for my tank is up at 2.5 is that too high?
    I just bought a new hydrometer my old one broke and was way off with it's measure.
     
    kennyminireef, Jan 2, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. kennyminireef

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    That isnt a reading of any measurement of salinity that I know of.


    Also you should be replacing the hydrometer every 6 months because they tend to go back. You should get a refractometer which will never go bad and is waaay more accurate. You can find them for around $20 on ebay and the calibration solution is around $3.
     
    little_fish, Jan 2, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. kennyminireef

    kennyminireef

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Harrisburg PA
    Ok maybe I read it wrong! What should my salinity be?
     
    kennyminireef, Jan 2, 2012
    #3
  4. kennyminireef

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    1.025
     
    little_fish, Jan 2, 2012
    #4
  5. kennyminireef

    AyeAye

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    How much salt would you put in a 20g tank? in tablespoons? grams?
     
    AyeAye, May 8, 2012
    #5
  6. kennyminireef

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    its going to be several cups of salt and table salt wont due for our tank.
     
    little_fish, May 9, 2012
    #6
    AyeAye likes this.
  7. kennyminireef

    AyeAye

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    its reef salt don't worry... :p
     
    AyeAye, May 9, 2012
    #7
  8. kennyminireef

    Northstar24 The Tang Herder

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Depends on the brand of salt, they all have different amounts required to mix at a specific salinity. The directions on the packaging should get you close, but I have found it almost always takes a little more then they recommend to get the salinity you're after. You really need at least a hydrometer or even better a refractometer for measuring salinity. When I replaced my hydrometer with a refractometer I discovered that it was off quite a bit
     
    Northstar24, May 9, 2012
    #8
  9. kennyminireef

    AyeAye

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    6 cups so far, hydrometer not moved. Put in more?
     
    AyeAye, May 10, 2012
    #9
  10. kennyminireef

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    I would go get yourself a refractometer, that doesnt sound right at all. I think your hydrometer is broken, which is a common problem
     
    little_fish, May 10, 2012
    #10
  11. kennyminireef

    wontonflip I failed Kobayashi Maru

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10,446
    Likes Received:
    979
    Location:
    VA USA
    Wait for the salt to dissolve a bit before measuring, too. But yeah, get a hydrometer.
     
    wontonflip, May 11, 2012
    #11
  12. kennyminireef

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,889
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You have to let the water and salt mix, preferably for 24 hours, before trying to get an accurate measurement. You should have a powerhead moving it all around.
     
    Bifferwine, May 11, 2012
    #12
  13. kennyminireef

    AyeAye

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    well...i tested the hydrometer and put in a dense salt-water mix and the needle quickly went to the top. then i gradually replaced the salt water with normal water and the needle lowered correspondingly until it hit 1.025. I know what 1.025 water tastes like now...so I could...
     
    AyeAye, May 11, 2012
    #13
  14. kennyminireef

    little_fish Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15,716
    Likes Received:
    2,575
    Location:
    ABQ, NM
    I would get yourself a refractometer, hydrometers are know for being wildely inaccurate and you have to replace them every 6 months anyways.

    Look at this, same water, two different readings

    [​IMG]
     
    little_fish, May 11, 2012
    #14
  15. kennyminireef

    AyeAye

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    right, ok i'll see about getting a refractometer. currently got the power head going.

    Many Thanks
     
    AyeAye, May 11, 2012
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.