Salt mixes

AHill40

reefer head
:Cheers: Hello to every one and I hope all is well, Ive been wanting to get my corroline alge to start growing, I do have some in my tank from a bunch of rock I had bought from my friend He shut down his tank,since then it seem to be bleeching out, . Any how I bought some purple up and also bought another water test kit a reef master from a.p.i. Well it was a good price but some say there not that good of a test kit. Anyways Im using oceanic salt mix and was useing instant ocean, Some one i know at the lfs told me that oceanic was a better salt than instant ocean about 4 month ago so thats what i started useing as though im still learning all about this hobby. Well befor I started useing some purple up i did the right thing, read the directions So i checked my calcium and kh levals and they were a bit high so i was told not to and any purple up and to stop useing oceanic salt and start useing Instant ocean from a diffrent dude at the same lfs, because oceanic had high levals calcium around 500+ @ mix up and I think he said my kh would be a little high which it was. Now i know my water levals will all come down with time untill i do another water change useing oceanic and then it all start over again. Ive read a bunch of revews online about severl if not all salt on the market and found out that they all seem to be full of :pooh: on what to use whats good and what bad. Sorry for such a long bla bla bla:grumble: note but what kind of salts do most of you all use And who has the best of luck growing corroline alge and good corral heath? Mine seem to be doing fine but would like to get things purpled up in my tank.... Art

i use kent but will start using reef crystals once i run out of kent, and most people use reef crystal. and as for the purple up its a calcium additive so itll up your calcium