Seeding Live Rock

Keaton

Reefing newb
Hey gang,
I'm really new to this and I'm doing my research and I'm at the point where i need to get some live rock going. As far as i know my water conditions are ideal but I've hit a roadbump. Live rock for a tank my size is expensive lol. I have a 75g tank and was planning on at least 1lb. per gallon which puts me at roughly $400 total. I have been reading about getting dead rock and "seeding" it for the obvious cost benefits. Is it worth it or should I just make my local pet shop a bit happier this week?? ANY information on this would be most helpful especially a website with some clear instructions as I'm very new and very confused lol. (i.e. best type of "dead" rock to use, best lighting, cured to uncured rock ratios for best results, etc.) Thanks:)

i would go and pay the extra money it easyer and less time comsuming. sounds like u have enough rock,but u mite need more depending on the rock some is more dence and this cost more

To seed dead rock, all you need to do is put one peice of live rock in with the dead rock. It will take a long time but it will eventually seed. The more live rock you have, the faster the tank will cycle and the dead rock will seed. If you get live rock shipped, even if you buy it cured, you will have to re-cure it since there will be some die off during shipping.

Check out the helpfull article section of the forum. There is a vast wealth of knowledge here. And plenty of reading to help you through the slow time of setting up the tank. Just one word of advice, go slow at the beggining and dont get frustrated either.

Brian

Last edited:
Brian gave great advice.It really only takes one piece of live rock to seed the base.The more live will speed up the maturity of a system.