sick of green algea

ZOOT098

Reefing newb
ok so i did my third big water change (25gallon) and the tank is clear for 1 day then you cant even see through it the next

i wouldnt mind it so bad if the water wasnt always cloudy, dont know what else to do

within 8 hours i have a green film on all my glass

i dont think 1000 snails could keep up with it

do i just have to wait it out?

put my zoos in my fuge which isnt suffering from the algea problem:frustrat:

I'm a noob and been battling algae since I started in January. You need a multi-pronged attack: floss/carbon filter, cleaner crew (snails, crabs, etc.), water changes, less light, turkey baste the LR and let floss catch the crap (this one takes a ton of nitrate producing detritus out of my water).

Algae loves light, phosphates and nitrates. Somehow those things are getting in your water and feeding the algae.

i have 4 green chromis they are small, about 3/4" each
1 lawnmower blennie
about 20 red legged hermits
1 sally lightfoot
4 red collar snails

ive used RODI water since first fill

Are you feeding frozen food? Are you running any type of phosphate media? How many hours are the lights on? Do you have enough LR? Looks like you coulld use more snails.

im feeding frozen food, just the solids

im not running phosphate media

100 pounds of LR

my lights have been running about 8 hours a day

im going to switch to just the actinics for a while per fatmans advice to another reefer

I agree that you could use more snails. Ours are a little behind and we probably have about 20-30 in our 75 gallon. Some people have as many as 1 per gallon. not saying that will instantly clear up your problem but it might help.

we have a mix of black turbos, cerith, astrea, and a couple of nassarius. I think the turbos are the best algae eaters of the group but I don't know that for sure.