SPS Polyp extension

BL1

I've been keeping SPS for about 4 months now and my original frag is doing great! Since then I've added about 8 more frags (acros, millies, and pociliporas). I can only see the polyps extending out on 4 of my SPS, the other 5 I've either never seen them extend or they're just barely peeking out of the skeleton. My question is, is that a sign of an unhealthy frag? And are they still alive or should I cut my losses and pull them out?

Thanks!

Last edited:
As long as there is healthy tissue on them and no RTN or STN, you should be fine. It may be as simple as finding them a diferent spot in the tank. Have you tried feeding them? I think the combination of the two may help out. Also, whats the water quality like?

I feed 2-3x a week (photomax, coral frenzy, or marine snow). I figured the spot in the tank and water quality shouldn't matter since they're all on the same frag rack and in the same water. And some of them are extending.
I'll post the water tests after I get home anyway, just in case though.

Some corals have smaller polyp extension than others and some barely show any at all like those smooth branch deepwater acros. It could also be where they're placed in your tank in relation to lighting and flow. Can you post any pics of the SPS in question?

Yep, as soon as I get home I'll post them up, one of the SPS in question actually is a purple deepwater acro.

Yep, as soon as I get home I'll post them up, one of the SPS in question actually is a purple deepwater acro.

I've got an ORA Hawkins Echinata deepwater and it rarely has the polyps out. I can sometimes see them at night after the lights have gone out for a few hours. When they are out they're only about 1-2mm in length.

Its ok. being a deepwater coral, they most likely feed in darker waters which is why they are out at night. I would venture to say that it is being phoyosensative. Try placing it at the bottom of the tank and see how it does.