Sump Setup

krishf22

Reefing newb
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to saltwater hobby. I have 150 Gallon tank with live sea sand of about 50 kg and live rocks of about 50 Kg.. Here in India no shopkeepers or any aquarium hobbyist have idea about the actual marine setup.. One of the LFS has suggested me the below options to setup my sump and I have setup the same.

Reef Octopus Skimmer - NW110
1 UV Sterilizer
Bio-Balls - 3 Kg
Ceramic Rings - 10 Kg
Aqua Clay - 10 Kg
Dead Corals - 10 Kg
Zeolite Clay - 5 Kg

Sump Setup:
1. Water flows from the main tank and drops into the filter sock and passes through the ceramic rings.
2. Then the water passes through Aqua Clay and passes through the dead corals and the Zeolite clay..
3. Finally water passes through the section where my skimmer and return pump is placed.
4.Return pump is directed to the UV sterilizer and then to the main tank.

My question is is this the right way to setup a sump?

Also I have never heard of using Zeolite or Aqua clay in saltwater tank. Are they necessary?

I was told that dead corals are used for absorbing nitrates whereas aqua clay will absorb phosphate in the water.

It has been nearly 15 days my tank is being setup and the water is being processed to through the sump.. I was told to wait for 30 days before adding the fish so that the system would be matured.

Experts - Kindly let me know if this is the right setup?
Also let me know best way to remove Nitrate?

Hello and Welcome!

You really dont need anything other than the skimmer. If you arent cleaning that other stuff regularly, it will just cause more issues. Just make sure your tank has 1-2 lbs per gallon of rock so you have plenty of natural filtration.

Also the best ways to deal with nitrates are having a macro algae in your sump and doing regular water changes.