Those anyone know if anyone has this setup ?

Discussion in 'Reef Fishes' started by janey, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. janey

    janey

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA, Poconos USA
    Ok I'm trying to setup my 110 Gallon slim. Right now i'm building a stand to lift up the stand that the tank came with. so i can have Tank in height view.

    Ok this what im trying to do.

    I will be having the tank to be viewed front n back and right side. I actually have it running across my living room.
    Now on the left hand side, i want to build a closet with 3/ shelves with windows so i can have it for veiwing a Cheto tank, a Frag tank, and a breeder tank . well maybe 2 tanks .

    I'm learning sketup so i draw out what i'm trying to do.
    Those anyone know if anyone out there have the same concept that i'm trying achive ?? any PIcs?????

    Thanks

    janey
     
    janey, Mar 23, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. janey

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,996
    Likes Received:
    3,868
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    I seen a set-up like that several years ago in a doctors office.
    It'd look awesome in your livingroom.Just have to figure out the plumbing.
     
    yote, Mar 23, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. janey

    JAYBROREEF

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lubbock, Texas
    cool idea!
     
    JAYBROREEF, Mar 23, 2009
    #3
  4. janey

    stagofdoom Phi Kappa Psi

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Franklin, Tennessee
    Sounds like a pain but will be worth it in the long run I bet.
     
    stagofdoom, Mar 23, 2009
    #4
  5. janey

    Alexander

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    7,208
    Likes Received:
    558
    Location:
    Boise ID
    i am terrible with building custom stuff. mine would look stupid but yours will probably look awesome. hopefully your able to pull it off. like said before plumbing will be the difficult thing.
     
    Alexander, Mar 23, 2009
    #5
  6. janey

    janey

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA, Poconos USA
    Re: Do anyone know if anyone has this setup ?

    Yeahh, that's another factor . How am a gonna do the setup / i mean plumbing.
    Behind the wall is my main water line to house which is also my stairs case. i have a dryer plug ( (220V) also on wall that i want to use for all the electrical plugs from equipment.

    Janet:question:
     
    janey, Mar 23, 2009
    #6
  7. janey

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    you Can't use that plug since it is 220 most all equipment is 110. you could call a electrition to change the outlets to how they need to be so you could use them.
     
    daugherty, Mar 23, 2009
    #7
  8. janey

    janey

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA, Poconos USA
    Yes. I'm aware of that. I'm gonna change the outlet
    And make 2 receptacles. A total of 4 outlets
     
    janey, Mar 23, 2009
    #8
  9. janey

    janey

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA, Poconos USA
    Does anyone know if anyone has this setup ?

    Ok here's a drawing of what i'm trying to do..
    [​IMG]




    Mind you the skimmer is a Power pro Model PQONE..
    I'm looking for manual on this too?
    Not to sure on hooking up ? I was told the big valve is the return and the small is the inlet ?
     
    janey, Mar 24, 2009
    #9
  10. janey

    janey

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA, Poconos USA
    Hi heres some pics
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    and this behind the wall

    so i want a closet built inbetween the wall and tank.
     
    janey, Mar 24, 2009
    #10
  11. janey

    janey

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA, Poconos USA
    [​IMG]
     
    janey, Mar 25, 2009
    #11
  12. janey

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    You are going to have to create flow on the exposed end of the tank somehow. Either by using powerheads and hiding the cords in the hood, or running a closed loop system. Luckily, with a hood, you can easily hide any unsightly wires.
     
    Bifferwine, Mar 27, 2009
    #12
  13. janey

    SeattleDarko REEFER

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Seattle WA USA
    That is a really cool plan I am sure you will figure it out when you do take LOTS of pics PLEASE :)
     
    SeattleDarko, Mar 27, 2009
    #13
  14. janey

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Likes Received:
    657
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    no he wont, those two vortechs on the left, pushing flow left to right will create plenty of flow
     
    dustin_P74, Mar 27, 2009
    #14
  15. janey

    bigploch Fan of Water

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    Any updates on this? Looks like an interesting project.
     
    bigploch, Jul 28, 2009
    #15
  16. janey

    Wes888

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Yea, in a way. I've been using a MP40w for a few weeks and tried all kind of setings, and noticed the flow is always single direction. The reason is that even in short pulse mode to create standing wave pattern, the net flow is still single direction. The under tow always flow toward where the vortech is.

    In order to get alternating intermittent flow that SPS like, you either need two MP40w running in anti-sync mode one on each end or having another always on powerhead on the other side to counting the net single direction flow.

    I don't think I'll invest another $400 to get the anti-sync effect, so I use an always on K5 and point directly at the MP40w on the other side of the tank. Now the set up is complete. Whenever the MP40w slows down, I get the reverse flow that I want.

    Unless, of course, you don't mind having the current always flowing in one direction.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2009
    Wes888, Jul 28, 2009
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.