tjs

tjs

Reefing newb
Hi, I am so glad to be a part of this community, I take great pleasure in my fish tanks, even though I am a beginner. I aspecialy enjoy my saltwater tank. But I do nead help! I recently put in 25lbs of live rock, very fresh I might add. My I had just treated my tank for red slim, which I thought was cleared up. Now my tank and everything in it, is turning a brownish gold color, and there is a fuzzy layer of stuff. I now I am leaving the lights on to long, because I enjoy it so much. I don't want my things to die, so I think I nead help quickly. Can I rince my rocks and sand in a seperate tank, will this help? Thank you. Please excuse my spelling, I have never been good at that.:question:

you should read the helpfull articals there are a few on nusiance algae the brown stuff is most likly diatoms the red slim and diatoms feed on phosphate and silacate so test your water for that im going through the same problem right now and found my phosphates to be high and found the source my ro water i was buying from the store so im using water form a different source and water changes and using phosphate spong it seems to be helping some slowly any way but read the articals on red slime and brown algae in the helpfull articals i think it will help you out