To drill or not to drill

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by Adrastos, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    I currently use an overflow box in my system (no pre-drilled tank for me). The nearby coral farm has the proper drill to cut the tank... but I am nervous about it. I've done some searching and that has not eased my tension.

    Has anyone here drilled through their tank and how was their luck with it? I've had this tank for a very long time and would hate for something to happen now...
     
    Adrastos, Jan 21, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Adrastos

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    I have not drilled but when I set up mine I am go to, or have someone else do it. If you already have the overflow why do you want to drill? If you do drill it, I have a really good diy overflow for you.
     
    bobby, Jan 21, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    The guy that runs the coral farm is pushing for the drilling (he really isn't charging me anything, so I know its not $$$ motivated).

    Sorry if I didn't explain it properly..we have an overflow/siphon thingy (that made a lot of sense!!!)

    He recommends drilling the top side of the glass and setting up an overflow drain directly in the tank (instead of having to use the siphon tube setup)

    Hope this made sense...
     
    Adrastos, Jan 21, 2007
    #3
  4. Adrastos

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    Ya I think drilled is better but if I had the overflow alread and was using it with no probs I would stick with it, though it depends on your prefrence I guess. If you do drill be sure to let us know how it goes.
     
    bobby, Jan 21, 2007
    #4
  5. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    I'll let you know - I still need to build up the courage to do the actual drilling... hoping this post might help build some confidence!
     
    Adrastos, Jan 21, 2007
    #5
  6. Adrastos

    jermpool NAAO President

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    I would ask him if he could guarantee that he wouldn't break it, and if he would replace the tank if he did. I'm looking into having my tank drilled this week, by a professional. Most of the "bad drills" are on tempered glass. Try calling your tanks manufacturer and see if the sides are tempered. If they're not You should be fine. I am not speeking from personal experience just from what I have read on the internet.
     
    jermpool, Jan 21, 2007
    #6
  7. Adrastos

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    My LFS recommended me getting my tank drilled, they said they'd come to my house and do it, but that means I'd have to drain the whole damn thing and find a babysitter for all my animals! And they still wanted to do it! They really tried to discourage me from using a siphon overflow box. Needless to say, I went with the siphon overflow box.

    If yours is empty, I'd say go for it, like jermpool said, get it in writing that they will replace it if it breaks... Built in overflows are much easier to deal with than overflow boxes.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 21, 2007
    #7
  8. Adrastos

    fishman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Alabama
    I have drilled 2 tanks and will drill my 75 in the future .I just do not want to empty it right know .It takes awhile to drill the tank .I drilled that that little tank that I had at the swap jermpool .U just have to be careful and take your time and pratice on drilling before u start.Get the right holesaw.Do not even try it with a rotery- tool .
     
    fishman, Jan 21, 2007
    #8
  9. Adrastos

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    I have heard of great sucsess with a dremal and a diamond dremal bit, however, it takes like 3 times the time to cut. I would stick with a hole saw, just wanted to give info I learned about the rotary tools.
     
    bobby, Jan 21, 2007
    #9
  10. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    He does have the proper drills... says he never broke a tank yet.. would take about 20 minutes to drill the hole... I've got a large enough tub that I can wheel over to the tank.. drain all the water, rocks and fish.. drop in a powerhead and heater.. and off I go.
     
    Adrastos, Jan 21, 2007
    #10
  11. Adrastos

    bobby I like to do bad things.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,002
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    hehe right behind you. hehe
    Good luck, and let us know how it goes.
     
    bobby, Jan 21, 2007
    #11
  12. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    I am still deciding.. I'll let you know what my final decision is...
     
    Adrastos, Jan 21, 2007
    #12
  13. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    Question - on your siphon. what do you use to start it back up again should the power go off?


     
    Adrastos, Jan 21, 2007
    #13
  14. Adrastos

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    I use a little Aqualifter pump, it stays plugged in 24/7 and it automatically restarts the siphon. It was like $7 or something. I have a CPR overflow box and it was recommended I buy the Aqualifter with it.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 21, 2007
    #14
  15. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    How well does it work? If I have another option instead of drilling.. I'd much rather do that.

    Is there a website for how to set it up, or can you post a picture or two?
     
    Adrastos, Jan 21, 2007
    #15
  16. Adrastos

    jermpool NAAO President

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN USA
    If it was 55 gallons or smaller I would try it. But if I screw up a $400 tank I would never forgive myself. I was even thinking about selling mine and trying to find one that was factory drilled. So far I have found one for $600.
     
    jermpool, Jan 21, 2007
    #16
  17. Adrastos

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Bifferwine, Jan 22, 2007
    #17
  18. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    I like the sounds of this option much better than drilling through the tank.
     
    Adrastos, Jan 22, 2007
    #18
  19. Adrastos

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    [​IMG]

    Here you go. The Aqualifter has some tubing connected to the overflow box (this pulls air/water out to keep the siphon going), and the second piece of tubing goes back to the main tank (it drips water out). That way if the power goes out the Aqualifter starts right up again and your tank doesn't overflow. I tested everything out, doing "make believe power outages" when I first set it up to make sure it would do what it was supposed to do. It works.
     
    Bifferwine, Jan 22, 2007
    #19
    Adrastos likes this.
  20. Adrastos

    Adrastos not getting a free ride

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    New Albany, Ohio
    Wonderfull. I'll have to do some searching and look for plans on how to set it up.. but I like this scenario much more then draining, emptying, moving, drilling and refilling...
     
    Adrastos, Jan 22, 2007
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.