Water changes

DaBrowns

Reefing newb
I am totally new to SW fishkeeping...but have a question about water changes. Basically how do we do it. For our FW tanks all we do is use the python, add tap water, pump in the correct amount of conditioner / stress reducer, and that's it. I can't imagine it's that easy for salt with the obvious addition of salt to the water. What else will we need to do??

You need to prepare the saltwater a couple days ahead of time. It takes that long for the salt to mix in correctly. If you make your own water, you cannot use tap water. You will have to buy either a tap water filter or a reverse osmosis/deionizer. Then make sure it's the correct pH and temperature before you do the water change. Or you can do what I do and buy ready made saltwater from your local fish store, then you don't have to wait while it mixes and adjusts. Then I use a python to remove water from the tank, then I slowly mix in the new water. It's not that hard, just time consuming. I put any additives into the new water before I add it to the tank to dilute them out.

Also check out the helpful articles - Beginning saltwater aquaria and go to part 6 for your specific question, however, you want to read the entire article as it covers a lot of ground that will help you. Good luck keep us posted.

hello dabrowns, Welcome to the forrums! You will find it very helpful as you get into this side of the hobby, and im willing to put my money on it that some of your other tanks will slowly become saltwater tanks as well:mrgreen: