What am I missing?

Justin Craig

Reefing newb
I am new to all of this and have been testing my water regularly. I noticed a small spike in my amonia and a spike in my nitrates, but I never saw any nitrites.. I am now starting to see small brown algae spots on my glass and on my sand. Will someone look at this and tell me what the heck is going on? Should I do a water change soon?

Background:
Tank Started on 10/19/2013
Tank Info:
75G display with 20G sump
65lbs live rock
65 pounds live sand
Pre-mixed saltwater
Equipment:
Reef Dynamics INS80 skimmer
Rio return pump
LED lighting
2 1150 koralia pumps
Inhabitants:
CUC
1 cleaner wrasse added on 10/23 (pissed and not eating)
1 mocha clown added 10/26 (lonely and not eating)

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

How did you start the cycle in your tank?

You added that wrasse fish when your tank wasn't cycle yet? that's too bad poor fish, that's why he isn't eating. The same goes for the clown ammonia is very harmful to fish. I think that your tank started to cycle when you added the wrasse they will probably die, hope they don't.

You added that wrasse fish when your tank wasn't cycle yet? that's too bad poor fish, that's why he isn't eating. The same goes for the clown ammonia is very harmful to fish. I think that your tank started to cycle when you added the wrasse they will probably die, hope they don't.
I used fully cured live rock and live sand which should mean my cycle is short and almost not measurable. The wrasse isn't eating because it was a bad purchase and I should have done more research first. Clown I think will come around he's new to the tank.

Also if you notice my levels the ammonia barely spiked?

Why didn't I see any change in nitrites?

You said you used fully cured live rock. There must have been enough surviving bacteria in there that processed the ammonia and nitrites so they barely registered on the tests.