why oh why

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by lilduud, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    would my nitrates spike after water changes?the past two changes it has been lower before the change then the day after... after two weeks with levels all at 0 i did a change on the first and today my nitrates are at 10? what the hell
     
    lilduud, Aug 3, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. lilduud

    BL1 ............. Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7,933
    Likes Received:
    1,370
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Did you check the water right before you did the change, are you sure they weren't already high? Did you use RO water or tap? Could you possibly have disturbed the sand bed when you filled it back up?
    I can't think of any other reason for it
     
    BL1, Aug 3, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i tested within an hour before doing the change and it was at zero... yes RO water from my own filter, and maybe slightly disturbed the sand bed... i did scrape lots of algae off just before... perhaps its dying in the water because i didnt remove enough with the removal of the old water?
     
    lilduud, Aug 3, 2010
    #3
  4. lilduud

    Chris_150G

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Crestline, CA
    Maybe something unseen died.
     
    Chris_150G, Aug 3, 2010
    #4
  5. lilduud

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,846
    Likes Received:
    881
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    How did you extract you water from the tank? Did you use a vacuum? Did you vacuum the gravel/sand bed? You could have your substrate holding it, and the water change is enough to disturb the substrate to release it.
     
    fastrd400, Aug 3, 2010
    #5
  6. lilduud

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Likes Received:
    1,067
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    i skim my sandbed when i clean the tank unless you are digging in the sand i dont think it would kick something up. even if you did not get all the alage out during the water change it would not just die and release all of its stored nutrients right away more than likely it would re attatch somewere and start growing again. did you move the rocks around at all? test your ro water for nitrates. it is hard to say what is going on
     
    daugherty, Aug 3, 2010
    #6
  7. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i removed the top layer of sand this time because of some cyano?
    and i didnt vacum it i full on removed it with just a normal thin tube. ill test the water after i mix it for another change today
     
    lilduud, Aug 3, 2010
    #7
  8. lilduud

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    What brand test kit do you use?
    Given the accuracy of hobby grade test kits and how hard it might be to tell the slightly different shades of a color, there probably isn't any change in your nitrate.
     
    ccCapt, Aug 3, 2010
    #8
  9. lilduud

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    ...and even if there was, why are you sweating it? 10 is fine.
     
    Bifferwine, Aug 3, 2010
    #9
  10. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    haha i know i just, like earlier stated, am a maniac about my tank haha and its the api test kit with the two part test tube misy thingy... its a good test and i knnow when zero is zero and this is nooott zero hahah but im probly over reacting haha i really dont feel like doing a change already so ill see what the level is tomorrow... i also just dont want the algae to be like HOOORRAAYYY NITRATES!!!
     
    lilduud, Aug 3, 2010
    #10
  11. lilduud

    ccCapt Reef Hacker Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Northeast PA
    That's pushing it a little. I wouldn't call API a good test kit. Fair at best. Like just about anything else, you get what you pay for. An API nitrate test kit is like $8. For more accuracy, try a Salifert which runs around $21.
     
    ccCapt, Aug 3, 2010
    #11
  12. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    haha well the api has worked fine for me so ill stck with it for now.
     
    lilduud, Aug 3, 2010
    #12
  13. lilduud

    fastrd400 It wasn't me! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,846
    Likes Received:
    881
    Location:
    Bay Area, California

    1 on the Sailfert. ccCapt knows what he's talking about when it comes to water chemistry.
     
    fastrd400, Aug 4, 2010
    #13
  14. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    so ive concluded tat im agitating the sand bed too much.. after i rearanged my rockwork my nitrates shot to like 20 so ive done about 3 gallons of a change in the past two days... i test the source water and its sero for nitrates so it must have been the sand bed. just updating
     
    lilduud, Aug 9, 2010
    #14
  15. lilduud

    Bifferwine I am a girl

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Likes Received:
    5,888
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    Stop agitating the sand bed at all. Your CUC should take care of it.
     
    Bifferwine, Aug 9, 2010
    #15
  16. lilduud

    lilduud

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Well I don't agitate it specifically but sometimes I'll get a layer of algae encrusting on top and I'll just suck it off completely and remove it.
     
    lilduud, Aug 9, 2010
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.