Can someone tell me step by step how to build a sump

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by nensley, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. nensley

    nensley

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    North Carolina
    From your suggestions, I think this is the way to go with my new 55 gallon. Can you all teach me how? TIA
    nensley, Jun 26, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. nensley

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,994
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    The easiest way,is to look through the DIY forum.Theres alot of sump builds in there with pics.
    yote, Jun 26, 2008
    #2
    nensley likes this.
    1. Advertising

  3. nensley

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    agreed, or you can go buy one
    dustin_P74, Jun 26, 2008
    #3
    nensley likes this.
  4. nensley

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,946
    I like the idea of a sump with 3 compartments. The side compartments will house the skimmer and refugium. The center compartment is where the return pump goes.

    [​IMG]

    Sumps need to be as big as you can stuff under the stand. Taller is better. Gives ya more room for overflow in the case of a power outage. A 12" tall tank could overflow before the tank drained enough to stop going into the overflow boxes. The 18" tall sump--on the other hand--would have the volume to carry those extra 8 gallons of water and the overflow boxes in the tank would suck dry before your sump overflowed. :mrgreen:
    Rcpilot, Jun 26, 2008
    #4
    nensley likes this.
  5. nensley

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    The only thing that I would change about RC's design would be to have both overflows drop into the skimmer chamber, then overflow to return chamber with a small maxi-jet powerhead pumping into the refugium(with a taller divider) then gravity overflow back into the return chamber.
    RyanG, Jun 26, 2008
    #5
    nensley likes this.
  6. nensley

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    that seems very complicated to set up ryan, why dont you just move the skimmer over to the middle and put the return at the end and have all the water flow into the refugium
    dustin_P74, Jun 26, 2008
    #6
    nensley likes this.
  7. nensley

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    Because I wouldnt want the raw unskimmed water going into a DSB it wouldnt collect so much detrious(CRAP!)
    RyanG, Jun 27, 2008
    #7
    nensley likes this.
  8. nensley

    dustin_P74

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9,262
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    then couldnt you have it go into the skimmer, then the middle be fuge, then that goes through a micro-bubble trap, then third compartment is the return
    dustin_P74, Jun 27, 2008
    #8
    nensley likes this.
  9. nensley

    cthegame

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8,695
    Location:
    California
    Yup. I think that's a very common design.
    cthegame, Jun 27, 2008
    #9
    nensley likes this.
  10. nensley

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    Absolutely you could but I want my fuge to be more of a breeding area for pods than a DSB and I dont want to flow my entire system through the fuge.:twocents:
    RyanG, Jun 27, 2008
    #10
    nensley likes this.
  11. nensley

    Rcpilot

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,946
    Too complicated and I don't believe in starving my refugium. I think it's okay to dump nutrient rich water into the refugium instead of skimming the water first and then dumping it into the refugium after it's been stripped of nutrients.

    It all goes through the skimmer eventually.

    Either way will work. It comes down to personal preference.

    I do want my entire system flowing through my fuge and skimmer/sump. But I want it running slowly. Let's take the 90g tank I have. It's not set up yet. When I do put it all together, it'll most likely have a 29g tank for the sump. The tank is 18" high x 12" wide x 30" long. In all likelihood, it'll have about 15--20g of water in it. That leave 10-15g for an overflow. Enough.

    But I want to run it about 300-400GPH. I believe in dwell time too. I want to run a DSB in my refugium and I want contact time so that it can do it's job of removing nitrates.

    I would run a closed loop for general circulation. Trying to push enough water through a refugium to also provide circulation on a 90g tank? 2700GPH through a 30g tank? Can you say tropical storm? Nope. Run the sump at 300-400 GPH and use the Dolphin on a closed loop for circulation.
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2008
    Rcpilot, Jun 27, 2008
    #11
  12. nensley

    yote Ceritfied Mantis Hunter Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,994
    Location:
    Ringgold,Ga
    It all depends on what you want out your fuge.Some people use em to breed pods,where others,myself included,use it for nutrient export.Both designs suit their purpose extremely well.
    yote, Jun 27, 2008
    #12
  13. nensley

    RyanG ^*Eternal Dumbass*^

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,189
    Location:
    Cuba, New York
    I guess I just dont see what is so complicated to suction cup a maxi to the side of a fuge and run a piece of tubing to the fuge compartment even if it comes from the skimmer section.

    Doesnt matter either way, I just dont want to have 900+/- gph running through my fuge.
    RyanG, Jun 27, 2008
    #13
  14. nensley

    Bifferwine I am a girl Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    46,915
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA and missing Tucson, AZ
    My skimmer has three sections. The first one is where the water enters and it holds my equipment. The middle section is a fuge with a DSB and macroalgae and live rock rubble. The third section holds the return pump. Three sections, two plexiglass baffles -- simplest design ever. I don't need a bubble trap, I don't get microbubbles with a sump this size.
    Bifferwine, Jun 27, 2008
    #14
  15. nensley

    Piggy

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,517
    Location:
    Elkridge, MD
    I built mine like Biff's except I have a bubble trap.
    Piggy, Jun 27, 2008
    #15
  16. nensley

    2008pollyanna

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    MN lake country
    Yes, Its my turn to go bigger on a sump...I am going to design it with baffles as I have a AquaC Remora overhang skimmer and just cant seem to eliminate the micro bubbles and sediment I seem to have developed. I believe it all stems from when I added a gallon size ziplock bag of very fine figi live sand to boost my organics in my tank. The substrate in my tank is a hawiian medium coarse sand with like black volcanic larger particles. For whatever reason, I felt I wanted to add finer live sand. I did. But, I think that is what has contributed to my sediment. The micro bubbles,....well, with the overhanging skimmer it has quite a drop into my sump. And with the benefits of going bigger on the sump. The water quality shall be easier to maintain. I am purchasing a used 40 gallon tank for the sump. I can then add baffles and such. Any ideas will be apprecited.
    2008pollyanna, Jul 1, 2008
    #16
  17. nensley

    Gooseman Reefing Is An Obsession

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    Location:
    Monticello, Indiana
    when adding baffles what kind of silicone caulking do you use to seal it up without the worry of chemically polluting the water?
    Gooseman, Jul 1, 2008
    #17
  18. nensley

    kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Location:
    Burlington,Ontario
    i got mine at the LFS and its for building aquaruims so im almost positve it will work for baffles and i dont think it would polute if its made for aquaruims
    kyle, Jul 1, 2008
    #18
  19. nensley

    daugherty part time reefer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,166
    Location:
    Billings, MT USA
    just look fro 100% silicone nothing for bathrooms as they have mildu inhibaters in the silicone you can but it at home deopt for 79 cents a tube
    daugherty, Jul 1, 2008
    #19
  20. nensley

    2008pollyanna

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    MN lake country
    Aquarium Sealant from the LFS. Works great and economically priced. Under $3 for tube and definately enough to do the trick. Had a crack in my smaller sump, sealed it perfectly.
    2008pollyanna, Jul 1, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. scubacane

    Next step

    scubacane, Mar 22, 2008, in forum: Reef Fishes
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    673
    daugherty
    Mar 25, 2008
  2. Rushy

    The Next Step......

    Rushy, Jan 22, 2009, in forum: New to Reefing
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    775
    Rushy
    Jan 23, 2009
  3. thefickens

    Help from step one

    thefickens, Jul 27, 2012, in forum: New to Reefing
    Replies:
    45
    Views:
    1,014
    thefickens
    Jul 29, 2012
  4. RollTide15

    Next Step

    RollTide15, Feb 14, 2013, in forum: New to Reefing
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    424
    little_fish
    Feb 16, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page