A complete newbie who needs a way to start!

Laz

Reefing newb
Hi guys,

I've basically been getting into this whole tank thing and have had a fresh water tank for a minute now, and upon my research and passionate viewing of countless videos of Saltwater tanks, it really feels like I'm playing with a house rather than a mansion!

Over this past week, I've just felt so jealous as to how gorgeous Saltwater tanks look in comparison to freshwater tanks, and it just seems like something I really want to get into.

The only problem is, I'm 20 and I really don't have a lot of money to spend right now and I'd like to limit myself at the moment and be as budget as possible. I was thinking of just starting a 5 gallon nano-reef but I really don't know where to start or what to buy! I was hoping some of you kind reefer's would possibly help me out with what I would require for a 5 gallon tank. I really just want to know the very basics of what I need to get going and I'd like to take it onwards and upwards from there! I hope you can help me have a little luxury of my own here, because I feel like I could watch videos of them all day!

Thanks, and it's a pleasure to be a part of the forum.

Welcome aboard!
What size is your freshwater tank? Could you convert it to saltwater and sell your fish to your LFS for credit in saltwater stuff? That would save you some money right there.
I would go as big as you can afford simply because the water parameters are much more stable the bigger you go.
One thing to think about is what you are wanting to put in the tank. Is there a fish that you have your heart set on? In a five gallon you will be severely limited on what you can put in there unless you want a coral only tank. Also keep in mind that if you want to grow coral, the light is your most important investment.