Aquaclear 50 powerhead sending major micro bubbles into the tank

Discussion in 'Lighting, Filtration & Other Equipment' started by koda_dad, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. koda_dad

    koda_dad Mr. Paranoid

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Halifax, NS Canada
    Title pretty much says it all.... bubbles are over everything.... rocks, all the tubes the sand... etc.

    Every like 20-30 seconds another burst comes out.

    It is totally submersed and the venturi is not plugged.

    Ideas?
     
    koda_dad, Mar 16, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. koda_dad

    phuture1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    brooklyn, NY
    i'm stumped. how close to the waters surface is the top of the venturi?
     
    phuture1, Mar 16, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. koda_dad

    koda_dad Mr. Paranoid

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Halifax, NS Canada
    6 inches maybe 7
     
    koda_dad, Mar 16, 2010
    #3
  4. koda_dad

    phuture1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    brooklyn, NY
    wow. the air has to be getting into it from somewhere. i'm at a loss.
     
    phuture1, Mar 16, 2010
    #4
  5. koda_dad

    steelcity

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Are you running it with the air line? I had a 70 in my old 55 when I was getting that going. I didn't use the air tube. I just threw it in there on the mount and it was fine. I know just use it for water mixing but same as before. No bubbles.
     
    steelcity, Mar 16, 2010
    #5
  6. koda_dad

    steelcity

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Their downfall is that their stream is very concentrated. It's hard to point it somewhere without blasting a coral or sand bed.
     
    steelcity, Mar 16, 2010
    #6
  7. koda_dad

    koda_dad Mr. Paranoid

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Halifax, NS Canada
    yup...no air line..just the mount
     
    koda_dad, Mar 16, 2010
    #7
  8. koda_dad

    bjohanson1234 .........

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,000
    Likes Received:
    1,103
    Location:
    Palos Heights, IL
    DO you have a pic of how it is set up? There has to be something creating air bubbles somewhere. Maybe a pic could clear things up a bit
     
    bjohanson1234, Mar 16, 2010
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.