Brief Intro

Robb

Reefing newb
Hi, I am new to SW tanks and this amazing Hobby! I am just starting my first SW tank, it is a 14G Biocube, but currently only has live rock. I am in the process of cycling my tank, it has now been one week since I began and have yet to see a spike in Ammonia as I have read this is suppose to happen. The only thing is I bought all previously cured rock, so maybe that is preventing or post-poning the spike. Either way I am going to give it a few more weeks until i begin to add a small Cleanup Crew. My current Readings since I would assume you would like to know this are:
PH 8.0 (ordered drops online to fix this should be in by monday next week)
Ammonia - 0
Nitrates- 0
Nitrites - 0
Calcium - unknown (in process of getting calcium test kit, also ordered online)
Alkalinity - Unknown (same reason as above).

I have much experience with other animals and I am looking for a new challenge, which is why I am getting into this hobby.

My current Animal collection contains the following:
1.1 Frilled Dragons
1.0 Red Tail Boa (Hypo - Salmon morph)
0.0.4 Tarantulas (P. metallica, B. smithi, G. Pulchripes formerly G. aureostriata, and C. fasciatum)
The animals I know the most about are the tarantulas, I have had over 30 tarantulas in the past 6 years and was forced to sell many of them as I recently moved across the country. Although it may be a long shot, if anyone out there wants to know anything about tarantulas perhaps we could swap info... a little quit pro quo.

Anyways That sums up about my entire life! Sorry for the long post, but I am excited to get further into this hobby!

Robb

Your pH is perfectly fine -- I would not add anything to change it. 8.0 is great. Anything between 7.8 and 8.4 is good, and your pH will fluctuate throughout the day, being the lowest in the morning when the lights come on and the highest when the lights go out at night.