Cloudy water - what happened?

Discussion in 'New to Reefing' started by FishyReef, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. FishyReef

    FishyReef Broke Reefer!

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,074
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Boston
    Came in to work today to find my tank cloudy (white). I did a 15g water change yesterday and also added PhosGuard in a filter bag to my sump. I thoroughly rinsed the phosguard first to get the dust off, but maybe there was still dust on it? Or could this be a precipitation event? (I haven't dosed anything for about 5 days, only did the water change). All of my corals and fish look okay, but for how long? I've ramped up my skimmer to try to pull out what I can. There is a fine white powder on my powerheads, etc., like there would be after a precipitation event. I'm leaning towards this being something to do with the phosguard but have no idea. Will my skimmer be enough to fix this, or should I rush out and buy chemi-clean or a poly filter pad to throw in the sump?
     
    FishyReef, Dec 17, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. FishyReef

    Cheeser I Love Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    satantonio, texas
    r u running carbon? u should get urself a reactor if u dont have one already.
     
    Cheeser, Dec 17, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. FishyReef

    hazelsdad

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    check the salinity. if it is to high the water will cloud. Water change with rodi will fix. MAke sure you arent topping off with saltwater.
     
    hazelsdad, Dec 17, 2012
    #3
  4. FishyReef

    FishyReef Broke Reefer!

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,074
    Likes Received:
    342
    Location:
    Boston
    Well, after removing the phosguard and ramping up the skimmer, the water has cleared significantly! I'm thinking it must have been phosguard dust... or else I had too high of flow on it and it was breaking the pellets down into dust (I had the phosguard in a filter bag hung on my skimmer outlet). I still have white powder on the powerheads, walls, and rocks. that I've been trying to periodically blow off into the water column.

    I am going to look into getting a reactor so that I have it on hand to run phosban and/or carbon. I need to find one that is not an in-sump reactor as I simply have no room for one inside the sump. I see that BRS makes one that isn't in-sump. Does anyone have recommendations or has anyone used the BRS reactors?
     
    FishyReef, Dec 17, 2012
    #4
  5. FishyReef

    Cheeser I Love Reefer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    satantonio, texas
    yeah i have one. works great. i have the dual reactor but if i could i would get 2 seperate reactors so i can adjust the amount of flow in each one independently. no biggie though. im happy with mine.
     
    Cheeser, Dec 17, 2012
    #5
    FishyReef likes this.
  6. FishyReef

    AdeptMrSniffles I have a Blue Thumb

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,056
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl

    I use the NextReef MR1 dual reactor. I use it for phosban and carbon, change the carbon once a month and phosban every 2 months. It's extremely easy to use, setup, and also has a hang-on attatchment. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a reactor.
     
    AdeptMrSniffles, Dec 18, 2012
    #6
    FishyReef likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.